Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 100 books. 22% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


60 / 165 books. 36% done!
Thursday, March 14, 2019

Clean Historical Romance a Fun, Entertaining Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Savage Wells, Wyoming Territory, might be a small, quiet settlement, but the town is growing fast and its anxious mayor fears trouble is just around the corner.  He needs a tough, dedicated sheriff to keep the peace.  Offering an unusually high salary should lure in the right man for the job.

Legendary lawman Cade O'Brien is certain that man is him.  Assuming his reputation will have proceeded him, he expects to waltz right in and take the position, no contest.  He's shocked when he spies other applicants—one of whom is a woman.  Cade never expected to have to prove himself capable but after a decade of bloody battles with violent criminals, he'll do anything for the easy tranquility Savage Wells offers.

Paisley Bell knows it's unusual for a woman to want to be sheriff, but the truth is she's been doing the job for months, even if the former sheriff took all the credit for her hard work.  She may not have a chance against someone as infamous as Cade O'Brien, but Paisley will not back down.  Not only does she need the money to care for her ill father, she knows and loves Savage Wells like no one else.  No one can do the job as well as Paisley and she won't back down until the position is hers.
While Cade and Paisley vie for the job, they have to contend with quirky townspeople, the return of Paisley's ex-fiancé, a threat to the town bank, and most troublesome of all—their growing attraction for one another.  With so much at stake, who will win and who will lose?

The Sheriffs of Savage Wells by Sarah M. Eden is a fun historical romance filled with likable characters, lively banter, and an entertaining storyline.  Sweet and clean, it has a swoony love story at its center that can be savored by readers of all ages.  At 336 pages, the novel is a good 100 pages longer than it needs to be, which bugs a little.  Still, despite the book's unneeded length and the subplot that is too thin to justify it, overall I enjoyed this funny, upbeat romance.  If you're looking for an uplifting read to make you smile, look no further.  You just found it.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of its sequel, Healing Hearts by Sarah M. Eden as well as other proper romances by the same author)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for mild violence

To the FTC, with love:  I bought an e-copy of The Sheriffs of Savage Wells from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

1 comment:

  1. Before I even finished reading your review I knew the two candidates would fall for each other. :-)

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive