Thursday, March 14, 2019

Clean Historical Romance a Fun, Entertaining Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Savage Wells, Wyoming Territory, might be a small, quiet settlement, but the town is growing fast and its anxious mayor fears trouble is just around the corner.  He needs a tough, dedicated sheriff to keep the peace.  Offering an unusually high salary should lure in the right man for the job.

Legendary lawman Cade O'Brien is certain that man is him.  Assuming his reputation will have proceeded him, he expects to waltz right in and take the position, no contest.  He's shocked when he spies other applicants—one of whom is a woman.  Cade never expected to have to prove himself capable but after a decade of bloody battles with violent criminals, he'll do anything for the easy tranquility Savage Wells offers.

Paisley Bell knows it's unusual for a woman to want to be sheriff, but the truth is she's been doing the job for months, even if the former sheriff took all the credit for her hard work.  She may not have a chance against someone as infamous as Cade O'Brien, but Paisley will not back down.  Not only does she need the money to care for her ill father, she knows and loves Savage Wells like no one else.  No one can do the job as well as Paisley and she won't back down until the position is hers.
While Cade and Paisley vie for the job, they have to contend with quirky townspeople, the return of Paisley's ex-fiancĂ©, a threat to the town bank, and most troublesome of all—their growing attraction for one another.  With so much at stake, who will win and who will lose?

The Sheriffs of Savage Wells by Sarah M. Eden is a fun historical romance filled with likable characters, lively banter, and an entertaining storyline.  Sweet and clean, it has a swoony love story at its center that can be savored by readers of all ages.  At 336 pages, the novel is a good 100 pages longer than it needs to be, which bugs a little.  Still, despite the book's unneeded length and the subplot that is too thin to justify it, overall I enjoyed this funny, upbeat romance.  If you're looking for an uplifting read to make you smile, look no further.  You just found it.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of its sequel, Healing Hearts by Sarah M. Eden as well as other proper romances by the same author)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for mild violence

To the FTC, with love:  I bought an e-copy of The Sheriffs of Savage Wells from Amazon with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

1 comment:

  1. Before I even finished reading your review I knew the two candidates would fall for each other. :-)

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin