Monday, November 25, 2019

New YA Dystopian Novel Fast-Paced and Exciting

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Dr. Doomsday knew the apocalypse was coming. Until the massive cyberterrorism attacks actually happened, though, his obsession with the end of the world just looked like paranoid delusion.  His constant prepping and drilling, not to mention the ranting and raving, led to the soiling of his reputation, the end of his marriage, and estrangement from his children.  Now that the country is in chaos, the world as she's known it crumbling to dust, his 17-year-old daughter, Susan "Jinx" Marshall, is asking (along with the rest of the nation), "Did Dr. Doomsday want the apocalypse to happen so badly that he caused it himself?"

The authorities seem to think the man behind the attacks is not Jinx's father, Dr. Max Marshall (aka Dr. Doomsday), but her stepdad, Jay Novac, who works in security at one of the banks that was targeted.  When a particularly menacing cop takes both Jay and Jinx's mother into custody, Jinx's mom urges her to run and find her father.  This isn't an easy task on a normal day.  It's even tougher with the police hot on her trail and two siblings—one a young diabetic, the other a know-it-all stepsister—in tow.  Channeling all the prepper rules her father drilled into her, Jinx must use every skill in her arsenal, no matter how desperate, to ensure the survival of herself, her family, and the world at large.

Day Zero by Kelly deVos, is an exciting, fast-moving dystopian novel that will delight fans of the genre.  Although it doesn't really bring anything new to the table, it still entertains with a twisty plot, interesting characters, and strong, active prose.  It starts with a bang (literally) and keeps moving at a frantic pace that will keep readers flying through its pages.  Since the book is set in Arizona, it was especially fun to read about familiar places, although I was a little sad when the characters' plan to head for Snowflake was abandoned since that's my family's zombie apocalypse getaway destination!  The book's get-in-trouble-then-get-rescued cycle does get a bit redundant, but overall, I enjoyed this compelling novel.  While Day Zero's ending is satisfying, it also left me wanting to know what happens next—needless to say, I'm looking forward to the book's sequel, Day One, which comes out in 2020.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of After the Lights Go Out by Lili Wilkinson and other YA post-apocalyptic/dystopian novels)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a handful of F-bombs, plus milder expletives), violence, and blood/gore

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of Day Zero from the generous folks at Inkyard Press (an imprint of Harlequin) in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!

2 comments:

  1. This is one I'm excited to read! (So I'm glad to know you thought it was good.) Hope you have a very Happy Thanksgiving! :D

    ReplyDelete
  2. YA dystopian fiction can be so much fun and this one sounds good.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin