Tuesday, May 07, 2019

True World War II Stories Both Fascinating and Moving

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

I've read tons of World War II novels, but not too many true accounts.  So, when I heard about Jerry Borrowman's new book, Invisible Heroes of World War II, I knew I wanted to read it.  It's a slim volume and yet, the stories he recounts speak volumes about the bravery, dedication, and sacrifice exhibited by ordinary humans in an extraordinary time. 

Borrowman highlights a variety of individuals and groups who served valiantly in the war, although their contributions were not necessarily known in their day or recognized as much as they should be today.  Among these are people of various ethnicities, nationalities, cultures, and backgrounds.  Both soldiers and civilians, they were also engineers, laborers, spies, pilots, communications experts, journalists, etc. What results is a kaleidoscope of stories, all interesting in their own way.  The one I personally found most intriguing was that of Dickey Chappelle, the courageous war photographer pictured on the book's cover.  She's a fascinating woman, one whom I'd never heard of but would love to read more about.

If you're interested in learning more about some of World War II's unsung heroes, definitely pick up this intriguing book.  It's a quick read, but one that is both fascinating and moving.  I enjoyed reading these untold stories, which made me marvel once again at the remarkable ability of human beings to survive and even thrive in the face of unimaginable cruelty and unspeakable horror.  The people portrayed in Borrowman's book are truly heroes with incredible stories just waiting to be heard ...

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of Women of the Blue & Grey by Marianne Monson

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs), violence, and blood/gore

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of Invisible Heroes of World War II from the generous folks at Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!

5 comments:

  1. I wish someone would make a really good movie about Dickey Chappelle. I'd go see that! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I had never heard of her before I read this book, but wow, she's SO interesting! And there was definitely enough action in her life to make for an exciting movie.

      Delete
  2. Hi, Susan. It's been a while (over two years) since I've been around, but wanted to let you know how happy I am to find that you're still going strong. That's great. I had to shut it all down after two near-fatal auto accidents and a really bad fall in between the two, but I'm trying to get back into the swing of things now. Anyway, just wanted to say hello. Hope to see you on Book Chase again sometime. Sam

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sam! I'm so happy to hear from you and so sorry to hear about what you've suffered in the intervening years. How horrible for you. I'm glad you're back in the swing of things, though! I'll be right over to visit Book Chase.

      Delete
  3. This sounds really interesting! I love that it has a variety of people and experiences in the war. I agree that I mostly read WWII fiction so this sounds like one that would be good for me to read.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin