Thursday, May 09, 2019

Miranda's Newest Another Twisty, Engrossing Thriller

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

In picturesque Littleport, Maine, there are two kinds of people—wealthy summer visitors and the locals who inhabit the resort town year-round.  With the livelihood of the latter dependent on the former, there's a natural divide between the two groups.  Their members simply don't mix.  That's why Littleport resident Avery Greer was so surprised when rich, sophisticated Sadie Loman befriended her ten years ago.  Having grown closer to Sadie with every passing summer, Avery is horrified when she learns that her friend's body has washed up on the shore.  With an apparent suicide note in their possession, the cops declare that Sadie stepped off a steep cliff of her own volition.  Case closed.  Avery's not the only one who doesn't believe bold, unapologetic Sadie would take her own life; she's also not the only one some people in town consider a suspect in the woman's death.  

Sure that someone (or multiple someones) knows more than they're admitting, Avery launches her own search for the truth about Sadie's death.  The deeper she digs, the more dirt she uncovers.  It soon becomes obvious that Avery's revealing secrets someone would kill to keep buried.  Can she find out the truth before it's her dead body that washes ashore?

I'm sure you've noticed by now that I love me a tense psychological thriller, especially one that's set in a cozy little town that's hiding big, juicy secrets.  The Last House Guest (available June 18, 2019), the newest suspense novel from Megan Miranda, delivers on all fronts.  The setting is atmospheric, the plot compelling, and the mystery twisty.  Just the way I like it.  Yes, the book is depressing as all get-out, but it's also an engrossing read that kept me totally riveted.  I've enjoyed all of Miranda's books and this one is no exception.  If you're looking for an absorbing summer thriller, look no further.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I should be able to think of lots of titles, but nothing's coming to mind.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a dozen or so F-bombs, plus milder expletives), violence, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of The Last House Guest from the generous folks at Simon & Schuster via those at Edelweiss.  Thank you!

17 comments:

  1. I love a good psychological thriller, too. Thanks for the review. I just put this one on hold at the library! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Can you put books on hold that haven't come out yet? Sweet!

      Delete
    2. You can if your library has the book On Order. (Of course, then you have to wait for it to actually come out, but I like knowing I'm the first in line to read it when it does.) :D

      Delete
  2. I liked this one but felt it a little slow. I think I just wanted a bit more from it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, I get that. This isn't my favorite Miranda book, but it still kept me totally engrossed.

      Delete
  3. This does sound good and I like a tense thriller too but I think I'll wait for this one until I'm in the mood for something dark.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Makes sense. It's not a cheery book, although it's not as dismal as other novels in this genre, most of which tend to be very bleak.

      Delete
  4. This DOES sound good. I like the setting of a Maine vacation town; I've visited Maine before and found the coast absolutely lovely, so it would be nice (and maybe a little creepy, haha!) to go back in book form. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've never been to Maine before, but it looks so beautiful! I have family in Portland—I think I need to visit them soon :)

      Delete
  5. This one sounds familiar, and I love the name Avery! It's not one you see very often. I have to be in the mood for a good thriller, but I'll definitely add this one to my TBR. :)

    Lindsi @ Do You Dog-ear? 💬

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I like it, too. It's uncommon, but not TOO unusual.

      Delete
  6. I've enjoyed other books by this author. Have this one on my radar for a later date. I love your phrase 'depressing as all get-out'. Good to know that it's also 'engrossing'. Ha!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I like Miranda overall. She's not my favorite mystery/thriller writer, but I've consistently liked her books. They all probably qualify as depressing, but engrossing! LOL.

      Delete
  7. I haven’t read ths author, but this sounds like my kind of book. I’ll have to give it a try!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. If you like psychological thrillers/mystery/thrillers, you should definitely give Miranda a try. Her books seem to be generally well-liked, not just by me :)

      Delete
  8. It's funny how genres go in cycles. For a few years it seemed everyone was reading dystopian and thrillers certainly are big right now. This one sounds good.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Depressing is not my go-to, but I am glad Miranda mixed all the elements in the right way for you.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin