Wednesday, March 14, 2018

Mutant Bunny Island Enjoyable in All Its Goofy Glory

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

If 10-year-old Perry Owens had his druthers, he'd spend all day every day reading comic books and gorging on junk food.  Who needs nature?  Or friends?  Or an ordinary, mundane life in the real world where nothing exciting ever happens?  Perry would rather imagine himself inside Ocean Blasterzoids, his favorite comic series.  There's always something thrilling going on there.

When Perry finds a distress note inside the newest comic Uncle Zeke has sent in the mail, he's startled.  The message doesn't say much, but it's pretty obvious that the man needs someone with Perry's unique skill set to help him.  Traveling alone to Bunny Island, he soon realizes that something is very, very wrong in America's 37th Favorite Vacation Destination.  Not only is Zeke missing, but his island home is covered in ... bunnies.  Impossibly adorable, the cute little rabbits can almost distract one completely from the fact that a lot of strange things are going on.  Almost.  Perry vows to figure out what has happened to his uncle no matter what it takes.  Can a comic book couch potato step up and become the kind of hero he's always imagined himself to be?  Or will the overwhelming cuteness overload be the death of him—and everyone else on Bunny Island?

I'm not generally a fan of silly tales like Mutant Bunny Island by Obert Skye, so I was surprised by how much I ended up enjoying this zany mystery.  It's wacky and campy and kooky and, overall, a lot of fun.  A quick read with lots of engaging comic book-style illustrations (by Eduardo Vieira), Mutant Bunny Island will appeal to reluctant readers who dig graphic novels and fast-paced, easy-to-read adventure stories.  I'm not sure I'll be seeking out more Obert Skye books (although his newest, Wizard for Hire, looks good), but I didn't end up hating this one like I thought I would.  In fact, I quite liked it in all its goofy glory.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I have no idea.  Suggestions?)


If this were a movie, it would be rated:

for some scary scenes

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Mutant Bunny Island from the generous folks at HarperCollins.  Thank you!


  1. This one looks just zany and cute enough for me to appreciate, if not love. The author’s name sounds so familiar. I’m going to check it out.

  2. I was surprised by how much I liked this one, too, when I read it. :)

  3. I've read the first Leven Thumps and enjoyed it for the most part but not enough to continue the rest of the series. I haven't checked out any of his other books. I wonder if I should?


Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin