Wednesday, November 12, 2014

New Regency Romance Surprisingly Substance-full (With a Giveaway)

(Image from Jennifer Moore's blog)

With all the possibilities the opening of her London Season will surely bring, Lady Emma Drake should be looking forward to it with glee.  Her mind should be swirling with thoughts of fancy gowns, glittering balls, and catching the eyes of the city's most eligible bachelors.  Instead, she's pining away for a man who's as unattainable as the moon—her brother's best friend, Sidney Fletcher.  Emma's been infatuated with the charming sea captain since she was 11.  The problem?  Sidney still sees her as a pesky child, the kid sister he never had.  Even if she could convince him that she's all grown up now, it's not as if he would give up his exciting sea-faring life in exchange for a dull gentleman's existence.  Emma knows the union she dreams of will never be, knows she should give up childish fantasies and find herself a more practical match, but she simply can't erase Sidney from her mind.  
When Emma receives news that Sidney's been captured by French soldiers in war-torn Spain, she's frantic.  Knowing she can't sit around doing nothing while the man she loves is in danger, she stows away on her brother's ship, determined to be part of the rescue mission.  Surely, such a heroic gesture will show Sidney just how much she loves him.  It doesn't take long for Emma to realize what a foolish decision she's made—a war zone is no place for a sheltered, well-bred lady.  With death and destruction all around her, Emma has no idea how she is going to survive Spain, let alone help rescue Sidney.  As the violence escalates all around her, her courage, her cunning, and her conviction will be put to the test.  Will Emma escape unscathed?  Will Sidney?  Most importantly, will Emma's secret desires ever come to fruition?  

Although I don't read a lot of Regency romance, I generally find the genre entertaining with its genteel settings, frivolous plots, and witty banter.  It's the kind of light reading I like to sandwich in between "real" books.  Lady Emma's Campaign, Jennifer Moore's second novel, surprised me by going deeper than the usual parlor dramas.  With its treatment of war violence, PTSD, physical abuse, and other weighty subjects, it offers a lot more substance than I was expecting.  All the derring-do kept the story exciting, heightening the romantic suspense to create a fuller story.  A few things kept me from loving Lady Emma's Campaign, namely Moore's tendency to tell rather than show, which made her characters and setting seem a bit flat.  Overall, though, I enjoyed this one, especially that there's more to it than just a silly romance.

(Readalikes:  Although I haven't read it yet, I assume Becoming Lady Lockwood, Moore's first book [starring Emma Drake's sister-in-law] is similar)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and mild sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I received a copy of Lady Emma's Campaign from the generous folks at Covenant Communications.  Thank you!

****


Interested in reading more reviews of Lady Emma's Campaign?  How about entering a giveaway for a $75 gift card to Sweet Salt Clothing?  Stop at each of the following blogs to get more opinions on the book and a chance to win the big prize!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

  1. I always like a good Regency romance--and my mom adores them. This might make a great Christmas present for her. Thanks for the recommendation!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin