Tuesday, March 07, 2017

Eden's Newest Regency Romance Full of Author's Trademark Warmth and Wit (With a Giveaway!)

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/p/lds-authors.htmlWith Napoleon destroying her beloved Spain, 19-year-old Mariposa Thornton flees her native land with only her elderly abuela in tow.  Before she left, her English father instructed the scattered family to reunite at his ancestral home.  He died before being able to give them more detailed directions.  Mariposa has fought her way to England, but now she's lost.  Somewhere in this vast land, her mother and young brother are hiding from a vicious family enemy.  How can she find them in a large country without drawing unwanted attention to the Thorntons' desperate plight?

Mariposa hatches a bold—probably ridiculous—plan to get help from Jason Jonquil, a London solicitor.  She can't tell him the true reasons behind her request.  In fact, the success of her mission depends on playing an exaggerated role, one that will camouflage her true identity and purpose.
As the son of an earl and a man striving to become a fine gentleman in his own right, Jason feels duty-bound to help the damsel in distress.  He can't make heads or tails of silly Mariposa.  Jason can't quite believe she's as ditzy as she seems, but then why the show?  The more he gets to know the infuriating female, the more intrigued he becomes.  Soon, Jason finds himself traipsing across the globe to help her find her family.  Along the way, he finds—inexplicably enough—that he might just be losing his heart to the enigmatic señorita

If you've ever spent time in the company of Sarah M. Eden, you know she's a petite woman who's big on spunk, humor, and charm.  If you've read her books, you know her sparkling personality comes through very strongly in her stories.  Her newest, A Fine Gentleman, is no exception.  The Regency Romance exudes Eden's trademark warmth and wit.  Yes, it deals with serious subjects (war, loss, mental instability, etc.), but overall the novel provides a light, fun, romantic read.  Although it reaches a very predictable Happily Ever After, there's enough substance in A Fine Gentleman to keep the story interesting.  You won't find a lot of originality here, nor will you be blindsided by shocking twists in the tale.  But, if you're looking for a bright, swoony story that's clean and ultimately satisfying, this one should serve you very well.  

(Readalikes:  Reminds me a little bit of Lady Emma's Campaign by Jennifer Moore)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:

  
for scenes of peril and mild sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of A Fine Gentleman from the generous folks at Covenant Communications in return for my participation in the book's blog tour.  Thank you! 

--

Would you like to get your hands on your own copy of A Fine Gentleman?  How about a $25 Amazon gift card?  How about both?  Fill out the Rafflecopter widget below to enter the giveaway: a Rafflecopter giveaway
 

Follow along on the blog tour for A Fine Gentleman:
March 10thhttp://booksaresanity.blogspot.com/http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/,

8 comments:

  1. I've enjoyed some of Sarah M. Eden's novels, and have been wanting to give this one a try! Love Regency! ^_^

    Also, $25 Amazon giftcards ... :D

    Thanks and blessings! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Her books are always fun. So are gift cards :)

      Delete
  2. I need to try one of her books but I also need to tell my friend about this author. She'll love her stuff, I bet.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Eden's books are always fun. I've read a few and enjoyed them.

      Delete
  3. I'm glad she's written a book about Jason; he and Mariposa made a cameo appearance in the last Eden book I read, so it will be fun to now be able to read their story. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, really? I didn't know they were recurring characters.

      Delete
    2. Mariposa shows up so briefly in As You Are I'm not sure it counts as being a recurring character. :) I have to admit, I really like how Eden includes all the Jonquil brothers in so many of her books. It's like meeting old friends. :)

      Delete
  4. I love Regency novels but don't read enough of them! I've read one book by this author and like it.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin