Monday, November 03, 2014

Gasp! Another Exciting Series-Ender for McMann

(Image from Barnes & Noble)


(Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for Gasp, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from Crash and Bang.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

After two traumatic experiences with visions predicting deadly, catastrophic events, Jules DeMarco knows not to fool around with the strange gift/cure she and her friends have been given.  That's why the 17-year-old refuses to wait around; she's determined to figure out who will be the next person plagued with the disturbing visions.  Yes, they'll think she's insane.  No, they won't believe her.  It matter—the sooner Jules finds out who's seeing crazy images of a future disaster, the sooner she can stop the tragedy from happening.

With the help of her older brother and her boyfriend, Sawyer Angotti, Jules seeks out all the survivors of a recent school shooting.  But, even when they find the next visionary, they're still stuck.  How can you prevent something awful from happening when you don't know when or where it will occur?  As the teenagers try to make sense of the visions, the horrible scenes become more and more intense, signalling the imminent arrival of a terrible tragedy.  Can they stop it in time?  Can they save innocent lives?  Will rescuing people from certain death mean becoming victims themselves?

If you enjoyed the first two books in Lisa McMann's fun, fast-paced Crash series, you're certain to find this one just as compelling.  The final book in the trilogy (waaahhh!), Gasp follows the same formula as the others.  With a mix of humor, suspense, action and romance, it follows Jules & Co. as they race against the clock to solve a mystery using only the hazy clues they see in strange, supernatural visions.  The I-see-the-future thing is not a terribly original plot device, but McMann uses it well, creating another fast, exciting story that will appeal to even reluctant readers.  I enjoyed Gasp as much as the first two books and am sad to see the series end.  Here's hoping McMann starts up another great teen series—and soon!

(Readalikes:  Crash and Bang by Lisa McMann, as well as McMann's Wake series [Wake; Fade; Gone]

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a handful of F-bombs, plus milder invectives), violence, and sexual innuendo/content

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin