Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2023 Bookish Books Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 30 books. 13% done!

2023 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona
- Arkansas
- California (1)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia
- Washington
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.*

International:

- Australia (1)
- Ireland (1)

My Progress:


11 / 51 states. 22% done!

2023 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


3 / 25 books. 12% done!

2023 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


13 / 50 books. 26% done!

Booklist Queen's 2023 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


15 / 52 books. 29% done!

2023 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


18 / 52 books. 35% done!

2023 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


12 / 40 books. 30% done!

2023 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


7 / 40 books. 18% done!

2023 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


4 / 25 books. 16% done!

2023 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Book Bingo Reading Challenge


12 / 25 books. 48% done!

2023 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 109 books. 17% done!

Children's Book Reading Challenge...For Adults!

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Not Surprisingly, It's a Meh From Me

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for Slayers: Friends and Traitors, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from its predecessor, Slayers.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

With one summer of dragon-slayer camp behind her—plus some on-the-job training—16-year-old Tori Hampton still doesn't feel ready to face the fearsome creatures.  A pity, since her ability reveals terrifying news: baby dragons are hatching.  Which means they'll be full-size, ready to terrorize America, long before the slayers can gain enough skill to control or kill them.  The slayers need more manpower.  Ryker Davis, a 17-year-old in Vermont, fits the bill.  Even though his parents have forbidden him to join the others, Tori knows they have to find Ryker.  The more fighters on the team, the better chance they all have of surviving a dragon invasion.

Meanwhile, Tori's learning more about her own abilities, which include an innate desire to protect the dragons.  How can she help her friends annihilate the creatures if half of her can't stand to see them hurt?  And speaking of hurt, there's her heart to consider.  With a traitor in the team's midst, Tori has to be careful whom she trusts with her life, let alone her heart.  

So, I have to be honest—I opened Friends and Traitors, the second installment in C.J. Hill's Slayers series, knowing I probably wouldn't like it that much.  Not surprisingly, I was right.  I had the same meh reaction to this one that I did to its predecessor, Slayers.  For me, Hill's dragon world just isn't that convincing.  Plus, the plot winds all over the place, too much explanation bogs down the story, and the characters are so flat I can't remember who's who most of the time.  So, yeah.  The books have lots of action, but little else.  For me, at least, that's just not enough.  Although I have to say, I quite liked Angel Moroni's cameo appearance :)

(Readalikes:  Slayers by C.J. Hill)

Grade:

   
If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence, intense situations, and mild sexual innuendos

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

0 bookworm(s) said...:

Post a Comment

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
All the Dangerous Things by Stacy Willingham

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The War Librarian by Addison Armstrong



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive