Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (4)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (7)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (4)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (12)
Greece (1)
Italy (1)
Nepal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


29 / 51 states. 57% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


49 / 53 books. 92% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


31 / 50 books. 62% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


34 / 50 books. 68% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Monday, December 06, 2021

Moriarty Hits It Out of the Ballpark (er, Tennis Court?) With Newest Mystery/Family Drama

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

As the long-time owners of a prestigious tennis school, Joy and Stan Delaney have coached a number of champions. Their own four children are, however, not among them. While Amy, Brooke, Troy, and Logan all became competent players, none of them quite had what it took to go all the way with the sport. Disappointing, yes, but the Delaney kids have found other ways to be successful adults. And now, with the closing of Delaneys Tennis Academy, 69-year-old Joy and 70-year-old Stan are looking forward to retirement and, most importantly, grandchildren. If the dynamic duo is having a little trouble transitioning from managing a thriving tennis school full of energetic young athletes to finding purpose at home in an empty, ignored nest their busy chicks rarely visit, well, that's understandable. 

When their mother goes missing one day out of the blue, Amy, Brooke, Troy, and Logan are shocked. It's not like dependable Joy to flit off without telling anyone where she's going. Sure, she sent them all a garbled, mystifying text, but now she's not answering her phone. Then there's Stan, who's acting cagey, saying he's too busy to be disturbed. Where could Joy possibly be? And why is her husband behaving so oddly? Could he have...done something? Or does Joy's strange disappearance have to do with Savannah Pagonis, the evasive young stranger who's been staying with Joy and Stan despite their children's protestations?

Knowing the police will automatically suspect their father if they file a missing persons report, Amy, Brooke, Troy, and Logan try to figure things out themselves. Combing over their shared family history provides clues as well as enlightening—and disturbing—insights into dynamics that may well have led to an unthinkable crime...

Big Little Lies, Liane Moriarty's 2014 bestseller, introduced lots of delighted readers (including me) to this talented Australian writer. I proceeded to read—and love—all of her previous novels. Her next two, though? Meh. Since Moriarty has been so off her game, I was hesitant to pick up her newest, Apples Never Fall. When I was offered an ARC, though, I couldn't resist. I mean, c'mon, it's Liane Moriarty! And guess what? I shouldn't have been worried because the author hit it out of the ballpark (er, tennis court?) with this one. Yes, Apples Never Fall is different from her other books, but it's got that old Moriarty spark that I have been sorely missing. Her trademark wit and sharp insight infuse this family drama, coating it with warmth, humor, and poignancy. The characters are complex and flawed, which makes them all the more likable (even when they're not). Plot-wise, the story has plenty of twists to keep things interesting. I was feeling very smug toward the end, thinking I had everything figured out and, boy, was I wrong! I'm so glad I was because the book's finale delighted me to no end. I know Apples Never Fall has gotten mixed reviews from Moriarty noobs and dedicated fans alike, but for me, it's a hit. In fact, besides Big Little Lies, it might be my favorite Moriarty novel of them all. I adored it.  

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of other books by Liane Moriarty)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, mild sexual content, and some disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love: I received an ARC of Apples Never Fall from the generous folks at Henry Holt in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!

6 comments:

  1. I have been reading reviews of this novel and haven't been sure if I wanted to read it or not, but your summary and review have convinced me!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yay! I'm glad this one ended up being so good. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I haven't read any of Moriarty's novels yet but she seems quite popular...and her covers always seem to catch my eye. This one sounds interesting. But I'm wondering from what you say if it wouldn't be better for a new reader of hers to start with her earlier books.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've been wondering about this book, I'm so glad you enjoyed it. I'll add it to my TBR.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I have been on hold for this book for about 2 months now! I love Moriarty. My favorite and first book of hers that I read was What Alice Forgot.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Oh this sounds so good! I've read two books by Moriarty and really enjoyed them both. This sounds really good and I definitely need to find this on audio.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive