Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (9)
- Colorado (3)
- Connecticut (2)
- Delaware
- Florida (3)
- Georgia (3)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho (1)
- Illinois (3)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (2)
- Maine (2)
- Maryland (3)
- Massachusetts (6)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (2)
- Mississippi (2)
- Missouri (1)
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (2)
- New Mexico (1)
- New York (11)
- North Carolina (5)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (4)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon (1)
- Pennsylvania (3)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota (1)
- Tennessee (2)
- Texas (3)
- Utah (3)
- Vermont (3)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (4)
- West Virginia (1)
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming (1)
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (3)
Egypt (2)
England (16)
France (1)
Greece (1)
Ireland (2)
Italy (1)
Malaysia (1)
Nepal (1)
Poland (1)
Portugal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


43 / 51 states. 84% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


66 / 53 books. 125% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


45 / 52 books. 87% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


41 / 50 words. 82% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


45 / 52 books. 87% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 40 books. 98% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Thursday, December 03, 2020

Reminiscent of Little Women, Great Depression Holiday Tale Heartfelt and Endearing

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Christmas has always been a time of joy and plenty for the Swift Family of Indianapolis, Indiana.  Not this year.  It's 1932.  With the Great Depression causing hardship and destitution all over the country, it's shaping up to be a bleak holiday for everyone.  With four siblings, 11-year-old Minnie is already wondering how her family is going to make ends meet.  Then, her parents decide to take in Willie Faye Darling, Minnie's cousin from the Texas Panhandle.  Also 11, Willie Faye arrives in Indiana covered head-to-toe in dirt, shocking evidence of what her impoverished life in the Dust Bowl is like.  Although Willa Faye has obviously lived a backwards life—she's completely unfamiliar with indoor plumbing and radio dramas!—Minnie enjoys having her lively cousin around.  Her life experiences remind Minnie of what's really important, an outlook she'll need to keep in mind more than ever with the skimpiest Christmas ever on the horizon.  Together, the girls resolve to make the holiday festive and happy for their family, no matter how little money they have or how dreary things get.  

Christmas After All by Kathryn Lasky is exactly what a holiday tale should be—it's positive, heartfelt, poignant, and uplifting.  In fact, the novel strikes a perfect balance between humor and seriousness.  Minnie's voice is pitch-perfect.  The Swift household, full of girls and giggles, is reminiscent of the March household, with all its familiar warmth and heart.  Just like in Little Women, the Swift sisters are stuffed with life and personality, exuding light despite the struggles they face.  Not only does Christmas After All show readers what living during the Great Depression was like, it also teaches valuable lessons about charity, hope, family, faith, and making the best of a bad situation.  This quick, edifying read has everything I adore in a holiday story.  I might have to make it one I revisit every December along with A Christmas Carol.  I enjoyed it that much! 

(Readalikes:  Reminds me a lot of Little Women by Louisa May Alcott)

Grade:  


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for discussion of difficult subject matter (poverty, homelessness, despair, suicide, etc.)

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find 

2 comments:

  1. This sounds like a wonderful story, great for MG, I am assuming.

    ReplyDelete
  2. An "A" book! I won't manage to read a book from every state this year (I never do), but am impressed that you are actively seeking them out as we near the finish line.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive