Thursday, December 06, 2018

New Gilly McMillan Mystery Complex and Compelling, But Not My Favorite

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Twenty years ago, two young boys were murdered, their bodies dumped near a dog racing track in Bristol, England.  A developmentally disabled man, 24-year-old Sidney Noyce, was convicted of the crime.  Convenient though it may be, the case's resolution doesn't sit quite right with some people.  When Sidney hangs himself in prison two decades later, it propels Cody Swift, the boys' childhood BFF, to take a closer look at what really happened to his mates.  Haunted by their deaths, he vows to find his pals' real killer.  Through a podcast he dubs It's Time to Tell, Cody talks about the case, discussing his findings with anyone who will listen.  It doesn't take long for him to start receiving violent threats.  Obviously, someone doesn't want Cody looking for answers, but who?  And why?  

When more remains are discovered near the track, another murder investigation opens.  John Fletcher, the DI who worked the original case, thinks the killings are linked.  As he reopens 20-year-old files, searching for new clues, he, too, comes under dangerous scrutiny.  Can he John find the answers he's looking for before it's too late?  With a killer on the loose and his career on the line, he doesn't have a moment to lose ...

I'm a sucker for an engrossing mystery/thriller and Gilly Macmillan certainly knows how to write them.  Her newest, I Know You Know, is a complex, compelling novel that kept me guessing.  Despite a cast of unlikable characters and it's dark, depressing vibe, I liked this one overall.  It's not my favorite by Macmillan, but it kept me engaged throughout.  Macmillan's a skilled writer and I'm always anxious to see what she's going to do next.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of other books by Gilly Macmillan, including What She Knew; Odd Child Out; and The Perfect Girl)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language, violence, blood/gore, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of I Know You Know from the generous folks at William Morrow in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!

3 comments:

  1. Another one to add to my TBR list! :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I won the audio for this one so I am happy you generally liked it.

    ReplyDelete
  3. You always manage to find mysteries that are set in the UK, which I love.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin