Friday, October 26, 2018

Cozy Christmas Collection Provides Swoony, Light Hearted Holiday Entertainment (with a Giveaway!)

(Image from Amazon)

I haven't even put up my Halloween decorations yet, but I just finished a cozy Christmas read that put me right into the holiday spirit!  A Christmas Courting is a collection of four short Regency romances set at Yuletide.  Three popular LDS romance writers—Jennifer Moore, Chalon Linton, and Jen Geigle Johnson—are featured, as well as newcomer Heidi Kimball (her first novel, An Unlikely Courtship, came out in September).  

As you can imagine, the four short stories in this volume are warm, upbeat tales that offer the kind of swoony, light hearted entertainment you crave during the chaotic holiday season.  While I liked some of them better than others, all of the tales are clean, uplifting, and cheerful.  Some deal with more serious issues, but in the end, all the tales guarantee happy, satisfying endings:
Love and Joy Come to You by Jennifer Moore concerns a young gentleman whose peaceful holiday is interrupted by a family of rowdy houseguests his mother has invited for the holidays.  Although, at first, Lord Covington is annoyed by the orphaned children, he soon grows to love them, with an especial fondness for the beautiful, enchanting eldest.  

A Christmas Courting by Chalon Linton is about Keturah Hensley, a young lady who pines for her handsome childhood friend, Christopher.  When he asks her aid in helping him woo a wife, she worries this Christmas will be the worst she's ever experienced.  

Mistletoe Memories by Jen Geigle Johnson revolves around Lady Alice Tarrington, a young woman whose tarnished reputation has made her the center of London gossip.  When her childhood best friend, the man who swore he would return from India and marry her as soon as possible, finally comes to town, Alice fears it's too late for any kind of relationship between them. 

Second-Chance Christmas by Heidi Kimball centers around spirited Francie Lockhart, who fears her refusal of a marriage proposal from her best friend has destroyed their relationship forever.  When a beautiful guest shows up at Gerard's house for Christmas, a surprising jealousy rises up in Francie.  Has she been wrong about her true feelings for the man she's only ever considered a pal?  

While the first and last stories are my favorite, I enjoyed all four.  They're fun, playful tales set against magical, snowy backgrounds.  A Christmas Courting will appeal to any Regency romance lover and would make for an especially heartwarming read when enjoyed in front of a crackling fire, a steaming cup of cocoa in hand.  If you're not a fan but you've got one on your Christmas list, this volume would make an appealing gift.  

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of other Regency romances by the above authors as well as those by Josi S. Kilpack, Sarah M. Eden, and Julianne Donaldson)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for vague references to violence and ruined reputations

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of A Christmas Courting from the generous folks at Covenant in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!

-- 

Interested in more opinions about A Christmas Courting?  Follow along on the book's blog tour by clicking on the links below:


Want to win a copy of A Christmas Courting for your very own, plus a $25 Amazon gift card?  Enter to win using the Rafflecopter widget below.  Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

5 comments:

  1. So soon! I can only get in the Christmas spirit around the end of November when the Hallmark channel is always on.
    Second-Chance Christmas is by far the one I think I would enjoy the most. I don't know why. I think realizing you made a mistake and dramatically racing to fix it (especially with love) is such a relatable thing to do.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds like some delightful, light reading!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've never really read Christmasy books, but they do seem appealing!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I loved this book! It definitely put me in the mood for the Christmas season!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I really like Holiday stories so these might be worth checking out.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin