Thursday, April 12, 2018

Worth A Quick, Empowering Read (With a Giveaway!)

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

For every little (or not so little) girl who's ever dreamed of being a princess, rest assured—you already are one.  You're the daughter of a heavenly king—the most supreme being of all—and have been since before you were even born.  No matter what your earthly station, no matter what your difficulties or challenges may be, no matter what others might tell you, you are of divine and royal birth.  Nothing will ever change that.  If that's not enough to convince you how much you matter, consider this:  the Savior of the world died on the cross for you because you are worth it.  Don't ever forget that glorious and empowering truth!

In a world where we're bombarded every day with images of airbrushed beauty and Instagram-staged perfection, it's easy for women to feel degraded, depressed, and discouraged.  In an effort to buoy them up, Wendy Ellison penned her first book, Worth.  As the subtitle suggests, the volume discusses individual worth with a special focus on how remembering our divine beginnings can help us find contentment, fulfillment, and purpose, which will lead us to the promised happy endings.  Using scriptural examples, quotes from LDS leaders, and personal anecdotes, Ellison expounds on these topics and recommends ways to remind ourselves daily of our personal worth.

Although the book is specifically directed at adult LDS women, it teaches powerful lessons that apply to everyone—male or female, teen or adult, Mormon or non.  If you're a member of the Church, you won't find anything new or earth-shattering here, but Worth is still an inspiring read that will boost the morale of any woman.  At just over 100 pages, it's a quick, uplifting book perfect for Sabbath (or any time) reading. I enjoyed it.

(Readalikes:  I don't read a lot of inspirational/religious non-fiction, so I'm not sure.  Suggestions?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Worth from the generous folks at Covenant.  Thank you!

--


Would you like more opinions about Worth?  Follow along on the book's blog tour by visiting the following sites:


Would you like a chance to win a copy of Worth for your very own?  How about a $25 Amazon gift card to go along with it?  Use the Rafflecopter below to enter the giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

  1. This is a popular subject lately so I can see this one doing well.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin