Search This Blog




Reading

<i>Reading</i>
How It Ends by Saskia Sarginson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Dead Wake by Erik Larson

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois (3)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts
- Michigan
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (3)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (5)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (5)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


21 / 51 states. 41% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


31 / 50 books. 62% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


32 / 52 books. 62% done!
Friday, February 02, 2018

Taut, Twisty Psychological Thriller a Satisfying Page-Turner

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

When journalist Leah Stevens refuses to name an important source, she finds herself without a job.  At loose ends, she decides to leave Boston and start over somewhere else.  A chance encounter with Emmy Grey, an old roommate who is on the run from a violent ex-boyfriend, ignites a brilliant idea—Leah and Emmy can relocate together to rural Pennsylvania.  There, they can start new lives in a place where no one knows either of them.  

Almost as soon as the women arrive in Pennsylvania the plan begins to go awry.  When Emmy disappears and people start turning up dead, Leah scrabbles to figure out what in the world is going on.  No matter how completely she describes Emmy, the local police can't find any trace of Leah's roommate.  It's like she never existed at all.  Desperate to prove Emmy's existence, thereby clearing her own name and showing Detective Kyle Donahue that she's not crazy, Leah launches her own investigation.  As she digs into Emmy's past, she's forced to confront surprising truths about her friend and about herself.  With her own neck on the line, Leah must untangle a sordid web before hers is the next body being pulled from the lake.

I love me a psychological thriller that keeps me constantly off-balance.  The Perfect Stranger by Megan Miranda certainly did.  The chilling, atmospheric tale kept me guessing throughout its many twists and turns.  So compelling is this novel that I simply couldn't read it fast enough.  I sped through it in one day, desperate to find out what was going to happen.  If you're into the psychological thrillers that are all the rage these days (and I totally am), you'll likely eat this one up.  Although it gets confusing at times, overall The Perfect Stranger is a satisfying page-turner that will definitely keep you on the edge of your seat.  I loved it.

(Readalikes:  I can't think of any specific titles.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language, violence, and mild sexual content

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

4 comments:

  1. I love books that suck me in and have me reading all day. Glad this one worked for you.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I agree. I enjoyed this one and it kept me guessing. I liked her book before this more but it was still satisfying. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've had this one on my Kindle probably since it came out. And, of course, haven't read it. I'm going to move it up the list because your review made me remember why I thought it would be so interesting.

    ReplyDelete
  4. That's a pretty good recommendation! I'm adding this one to my Goodreads list. :)

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin



Followin' by Email



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:

Blog Archive