Friday, February 02, 2018

One A Spare, Striking YA Novel About Two Unique Girls and One Terrifying Choice

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Unlike most people, 16-year-old Grace has never been alone.  Literally.  Never.  Not when she sleeps, not when she cries, not when she goes to the bathroom.  As a conjoined twin, she is never—ever—by herself.  Although Grace and her sister Tippi have separate hearts and heads and two arms each, along with very distinct personalities, they're attached at the stomach.  They've learned to get along as a team and mostly, they're happy to be two, but also one.

As Grace and Tippi make the transition from being homeschooled to attending a private high school, their lives start to change.  Navigating the treacherous waters of high school is its own beast, but the girls are also dealing with an anorexic older sister, an overworked mother, and an unemployed father who's drinking too much.  Not to mention Grace's attraction to a new friend.  As if that weren't enough, Grace's body starts to rebel, causing the girls to make an impossible choice that could change —or end—both their lives forever.

Written in verse, One by Sarah Crossan is a spare, striking novel that is as raw as it is powerful.  Although every word in the story is purposeful, that doesn't stop the tale from being rich and engrossing.  It's an impacting novel that teaches important lessons about love, acceptance, sacrifice, and the strength of a sister's love.  Because of its format, you can read this one quickly, but it won't let go of you quite that fast.  An impacting little book, One is a fascinating portrait of two unique girls who have to make one terrifying decision—together.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't really think of anything.  Can you?

Grade: 


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a half dozen or so F-bombs, plus milder expletives) and depictions of underage drinking and illegal drug use

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

2 comments:

  1. I like the cover of this one and the story sounds good too. Add the verse novel aspect and I’m in.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I liked this novel, especially that it was a character that doesn't usually exist in YA literature.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin