Thursday, July 20, 2017

Fifth Maeve Kerrigan Mystery Leaves Me Hankering for the Sixth ... and Seventh ... and Eighth ... and ...

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note: While this review will not contain spoilers for The Kill, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from earlier Maeve Kerrigan mysteries. As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

DC Maeve Kerrigan is looking forward to attending the wedding of a colleague in the peaceful English countryside.  She could use a break from the grimness of her job as a London murder detective.  A brutal cop killing in the city cuts her holiday short, however, and it's not long before she and her mercurial partner, DI Josh Derwent, are headed back to the mean streets of London.  So much for the vacation Maeve so desperately needs.

Puzzled by the cold reaction of the policeman's widow, Maeve and Derwent must sort out the truth behind the murder.  What led to Sergeant Hammond's untimely demise?  Everyone involved in the crime seems to be hiding explosive secrets, including Maeve's boss.  Can Maeve filter out the facts in time to catch a killer?  Torn between loyalty to her mentor, her desire to put a murderer behind bars, and her blossoming attraction to her partner, Maeve's got plenty on her plate.  And things are about to go from bad to a whole lot worse ...

It's no secret that I love me some Maeve Kerrigan.  She's the perfect heroine—brave, devoted, and likable.  Her narrative voice is so compelling that I would literally follow it anywhere!  That's not tough, though, when Jane Casey writes such engrossing stories.  The Kill, the fifth installment in her popular series, is no exception.  Although I guessed the identity of the murderer early on in this one, the novel still held enough surprises to keep me turning pages late into the night.  I'm especially enjoying the growing relationship between Maeve and Josh, the latter of whom gets some much needed humanizing in The Kill.  The ending of this one made me sad, but it also left me hankering for the next book (and the next and the next ...).

(Readalikes:  other books in the Maeve Kerrigan series, including Left For Dead [novella]; The Burning; The Reckoning; The Last Girl; The Stranger You Know; After the Fire; and Let the Dead Speak; also reminds me of books by Tana French and Sharon Bolton)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language, violence, blood/gore, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

4 comments:

  1. I love this series...and am up to this book, so I didn't really read the review - didn't want to read any spoilers! I totally agree with you though about reading the series in order - it builds on character development if nothing else, and I always feel that there is mention of previous cases! I listen to this series on audio and the narrator is great! And it's been the same narrator for each book, so far :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Agreed. I always read books in a series in order, even if they are series you don't really HAVE to read in order. Otherwise, I feel like I miss seeing how a character develops. Plus, even little spoilers can ruin a series for me. Glad I'm not the only one who feels this way :)

      Delete
  2. High praise! You're making me want to get back into crime novels but every time I try I can't get into it. :(

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love a good series! It's always great to have books that you can count on. :)

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin