Thursday, May 04, 2017

Disturbing But Compelling, Second Novel in Crime Series As Thrilling As The First

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note: While this review will not contain spoilers for The Reckoning, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from its predecessor, The Burning.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

As a woman on London's elite murder squad, DC Maeve Kerrigan feels the need to prove herself to her male colleagues—again and again and again.  Even still, the 28-year-old would rather stay away from the high-profile case her department just picked up in Brixton.  Some call the city's newest serial killer a hero; after all, the murderer's victims are sexual offenders whom no one will mourn.  Most coppers would consider this kind of street justice, however savage, to be fair play.  Not Maeve.  Determined to stop a vicious killer, despite the crimes of his victims, she's committed to solve the case.

There are complications, of course.  One of them is Maeve's new partner, a misogynistic new DI named Josh Derwent.  Office politics make things even more difficult.  Not sure who she can trust even on her own team, Maeve must be extra-cautious with a case that gets more disturbing by the minute.  She can bring down a violent serial killer?  Or will he find her first?

While The Reckoning—the second book in Jane Casey's Maeve Kerrigan series—is more disturbing than its predecessor, it's just as compelling.  The plot races along, making for a tense, pulse-pounding thrill ride.  It's our heroine, however, that keeps me reading.  Maeve is an understated, what-you-see-is-what-you-get kind of character.  She's competent but fallible, tough but compassionate, brave but vulnerable.  I love her.  Even though Casey's mysteries aren't as twisty as some, I have found them very difficult to put down.  After racing through The Burning, I binge-read the whole Maeve Kerrigan series to date and I can tell you that it just keeps getting better.  The stories aren't for the faint of heart, but if you like British/Irish crime novels, you'll definitely want to give this series a go.

(Readalikes: Reminds me of the Dublin Murder Squad series [In the Woods; The Likneness; Faithful Place; Broken Harbour; The Secret Place; and The Trespasser] by Tana French as well as other books in the Maeve Kerrigan series [Left for Dead (novella); The Burning; The Last Girl; The Stranger You Know; The Kill; After the Fire; and Let the Dead Speak] by Jane Casey)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language, violence, blood/gore, sexual content, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

3 comments:

  1. It's a rare thing for an author to nail it over and over. I'm glad this one manages.

    ReplyDelete
  2. You're more courageous than me. I just can't read gory or disturbing books. They haunt me for days afterwards.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh, I am hooked!Britcrime is a favourite genre!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin