Friday, June 16, 2017

Love on Pointe a Fun, Faith-Promoting Debut (With a Giveaway!)

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Rhys Solario isn't like the other guys at Brigham Young University.  He hasn't served a mission, he doesn't hold the priesthood, he's not interested in a temple marriage—heck, he's not even Mormon.  He's a good guy, but he's learned from bitter experience that he's not the kind of man for whom BYU co-eds are looking.  Which is fine by him.  He just needs to keep his head down for two more semesters, then he'll be done with the Y and its crazy dating scene forever. 

http://www.blogginboutbooks.com/p/lds-authors.htmlEmmy Jennings only has one thing on her mind: ballet.  She's a talented, experienced ballerina, but now that her impulsive twin has up and quit dancing—an obsession they've always shared—Emmy will have to work even harder to learn routines and perform well enough to earn a coveted solo in an upcoming show.  With a full school schedule, a learning disability that makes studying even more complicated, and a sister-roommate who's acting strangely, Emmy's got plenty on her plate.  The last thing she needs is a distraction like her handsome new study partner.  She's not looking for a date, let alone her eternal companion, but Emmy can't deny her attraction to kind, down-to-earth Rhys Solario.

Rhys can't believe a gorgeous, graceful Mormon girl like Emmy is giving a guy like him a chance.  Of course, she doesn't know he's not a member of her church.  He needs to tell her.  Right away.  The second he does, though, she'll jeté right out of his life.  Rhys will do anything to keep Emmy by his side.  Except the one thing she wants him to do: convert.  Will Emmy have to give up what's most important to her in order for the couple to have a chance?  Or will their whirlwind romance end before it's even had a chance to begin? 

Love on Pointe, a debut novel by Tiffany Odekirk, is an upbeat, swoony romance featuring a likable duo battling an impossible problem.  While I found the story's premise a little implausible, I adored its setting.  Odekirk does an admirable job of bringing the BYU atmosphere to life in all its goofy glory, capturing both the fun and frustration inherent in the student experience.  She also goes to great pains to break down common stereotypes, although many manage to bleed through.  Still, Love on Pointe tackles a difficult situation with honesty and sensitivity.  Although it's obvious from the get-go how the story will end, she throws in a couple of surprises to keep the plot interesting.  Not every aspect of the story line rang true for me, but overall I found Love on Pointe an enjoyable read.  Yes, it oozes a fair amount of cheese and melodrama; still, it's a bright, fun, faith-promoting book that will appeal to anyone looking for a clean, easy-to-read LDS romance.  While I have a few issues with Odekirk's debut performance, one thing is certain—I can't wait to see what she does for an encore.    

(Readalikes:  Love on Pointe reminded me of other contemporary LDS romances by Melanie Jacobson, Jenny Proctor, and Brittany Larsen)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for nothing offensive, although the story is most appropriate for readers 12+

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Love on Pointe from the generous folks at Covenant.  Thank you!

--


Want more opinions on Love on Pointe?  Follow along on the book's blog tour:


 Want to win your own copy of Love on Pointe plus a $25 Amazon gift card?  Enter here:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

6 comments:

  1. This sounds like a sweet book. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ballet is one of those magnetic words for me that always makes me want to read that book, whatever else it's about. I just can't help myself. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Really? I took a ballet class in elementary school and HATED it. Ha ha. I like watching The Nutcracker, but other than that, ballet's not something I'm very into.

      Delete
  3. Um, I have so many reservations about this one. It sounds like it was written for LDS people only and while I'm sure the author thinks non members would enjoy it, I'm guessing there's too many LDS jokes etc for any non member to understand.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ha ha. Yes, this is definitely an LDS novel. I'm not sure what non-LDS people would think of it. The book's not overly preachy, but it is about eternal marriage and why LDS people feel it's important to marry within the faith. It's an interesting topic -- sensitive, of course -- but in a book published by Covenant, a story of this kind will only ever end one way :) I went into it knowing that and got what I expected to get, if that makes sense.

      Delete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin