Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


16 / 30 books. 53% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware (1)
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (2)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico (1)
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia (1)
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (2)
- Canada (2)
- England (12)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


38 / 51 states. 75% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


50 / 52 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


30 / 40 books. 75% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


16 / 40 books. 40% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


11 / 25 books. 44% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


21 / 26.2 miles (2nd lap). 80% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


30 / 100 books. 30% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


75 / 104 books. 72% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


50 / 52 books. 96% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


90 / 165 books. 55% done!
Saturday, January 21, 2017

Second Gold Seer Novel Almost as Good as the First

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for Like a River Glorious, it might inadvertently reveal plot surprises from its predecessor, Walk on Earth a Stranger.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

After a perilous journey across the United States, 16-year-old Leah "Lee" Westfall is glad to be rooted in one place again.  She and her small band of friends have chosen to settle in a spot that keeps Lee's gold sense buzzing.  There's plenty of precious ore to be had in California; if she's careful to conceal her mystical prospecting methods, she can keep nosy miners away from her treasure-filled mountains.  Of course, her nefarious Uncle Hiram hasn't stopped hunting her.  And "luck" as good as Lee's can't really be kept secret.  It's not long before strangers come sniffing around, eager to get their hands on her prize.

Naturally, Hiram catches wind of his niece's success.  Desperate to use her special skills to his advantage, he kidnaps Lee and Jefferson, imprisoning them both at his sprawling camp.  Lee will do anything to keep her friends safe, even witching for her hated uncle.  She's escaped Hiram once, she can do it again.  All she needs is time to figure out a plan.  She doesn't have much in the way of advantages, but there is something Hiram doesn't know—Lee's powers are growing, becoming stronger every day.  The gold rush inside of her is so powerful she's not sure she can control it anymore.  

With everything that matters to her at stake, can Lee save herself from her uncle's clutches?  What will it take for her to be free of him—forever?

Like the first book in Rae Carson's Gold Seer Trilogy, the second—Like a River Glorious—is an action-packed adventure full of danger, daring, and drama.  Lee continues to be an admirable heroine, awash in bravery, loyalty, and heart.  I don't always love second installments in series, but this one doesn't feel like a filler book.  The development of Lee's magic adds significantly to the plot, which already has lots to offer.  Like a River Glorious isn't quite as good as Walk on Earth a Stranger—still, I enjoyed it.  A lot.  The final book in the trilogy comes out later this year and I can't wait to see what happens next in this excellent series.

(Readalikes:  Walk on Earth a Stranger and Into the Bright Unknown [available October 2017] by Rae Carson; also reminds me of Under a Painted Sky by Stacey Lee and Vengeance Road by Erin Bowman)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs), violence, blood/gore, and vague references to prostitution

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of Like a River Glorious from the generous folks at HarperCollins via those at Edelweiss.  Thank you!

3 comments:

  1. I've loved all Rae Carson books so far but was disappointed in #2 of Gold series.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've really got the read these but I'll probably wait till the third is out.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Homecoming by Kate Morton

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Good Neighbor by Maxwell King



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive