Tuesday, January 17, 2017

I Can't Explain It, But I Loved It

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Some books are impossible to describe.  Judging from the skimpy plot summary, even the publisher had a tough time explaining Dark Matter, the newest book by Blake Crouch.  I'm not even going to attempt it because like I said ... impossible.  
“Are you happy with your life?”                                                                                                                                                                                                                     Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    Before he awakens to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                    Before a man Jason’s never met smiles down at him and says, “Welcome back, my friend.”                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                   In this world he’s woken up to, Jason’s life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor, but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable. Something impossible.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                            Is it this world or the other that’s the dream? And even if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could’ve imagined—one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.                                                                                                                                                                                                                 Dark Matter is a brilliantly plotted tale that is at once sweeping and intimate, mind-bendingly strange and profoundly human—a relentlessly surprising science-fiction thriller about choices, paths not taken, and how far we’ll go to claim the lives we dream of.
Maybe I can't tell you exactly what Dark Matter is about, but I can tell you that I loved it.  Why?  It's unique, it's surprising, it's intriguing, it's engrossing, it's impossible to put down.  In a word: stunning.  I devoured the book, reading well into the night to see what would happen to Jason Dossen.  If you like mind-bending sci fi adventure stories, this one's for you.

(Readalikes:  Honestly, nothing I've ever read comes to mind!)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, sexual content, and depictions of illegal drug use

To the FTC, with love: Another library fine find

6 comments:

  1. I have a copy of this and want to read it soon. So you can't describe it and you marked it an 'A'. I better pull it out of the closet. LOL

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. LOL -- Once you read it, you'll see what I mean. It's tough to describe the book because it's got a complex plot and I don't want to give too much away. It's a unique book -- confusing at first but really good. At least IMHO :)

      Delete
  2. Excited to see you loved this. I have the audio on hold and am even more jazzed to get it now. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Yay!!! I'm so happy you loved it! This was one of my favorites last year! :D

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm going to have to read this one soon. Everyone is raving about it and I've loved Crouch's other book that I've read. He's making quite the name for himself, isn't he?

    ReplyDelete
  5. This is on my TBR - a great review of what sounds like a book I'd thoroughly enjoy.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin