Tuesday, January 17, 2017

The Burning Air An Intense, Suspenseful Page Turner


(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Still mourning the loss of Lydia, their matriarch, the MacBride Family gathers at their country home for some peace and quiet.  The arrival of a stranger in the isolated locale is a surprise.  Disconcerted by the presence of an outsider, the MacBrides nevertheless try to make her feel welcome.  Unbeknownst to the family, Darcy Kellaway has a history with the MacBrides.  And not a pretty one.  When Sophie MacBride Woods' 8-month-old baby disappears while under Darcy's care, they realize a fatal error has been made.  What happened to the child?  And who is Darcy, really?  

The Burning Air by Erin Kelly is a complex, well-plotted psychological thriller that asks just how far a person might go to exact revenge on the people who have hurt him/her.  It's a chilling question to contemplate—especially if you're part of the MacBride clan.  The novel explores the idea using complex, interesting characters and a tense, suspenseful story line.  Although the last section seems tacked on, the rest of the tale is fairly taut, making The Burning Air an engrossing page turner.  It's a compelling read, one I didn't love but ended up liking well enough.

(Readalikes:  Reminded me of books by Sharon Bolton and Tana French)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

6 comments:

  1. You're more brave than me. I have a hard time with disturbing subject matters and child kidnappings.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, sometimes I can stomach it, sometimes I can't. Depends.

      Delete
  2. I own this one too, as well as a couple of other books by Erin Kelly. OK, you are a review 'machine' these days and all of them sound good. You are adding to my 'read it soon' list like crazy!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ha ha. I read this book back in October. I'm trying to get all the books I read in 2016 reviewed this month so I can officially move on to 2017! I'm always behind with reviews. Always.

      Delete
  3. Ugh! You make everything sound good. Even the ones that aren't so good. I'll admit this one intrigues me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Bwahahaha! It's my evil super power :)

      Delete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin