Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (4)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts (1)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (4)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (6)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas (1)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (3)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (6)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


28 / 51 states. 55% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


0 / 24 books. 0% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


7 / 25 books. 28% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!
Tuesday, January 03, 2017

Atmospheric Shetland Thriller Another Exciting Installment in Compelling Mystery Series

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for Red Bones, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from earlier Shetland books.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

Hattie James, an English post-graduate student working on a PhD in archaeology, is as surprised as anyone when she discovers human remains at her Whalsay dig site.  The locals are intrigued—is this an ancient skeleton or one with a more recent pedigree?  When an old woman is killed nearby, accidental though the death seems to be, the spot seems cursed.  Not long after, Hattie's dead body is discovered in one of the trenches at the site.  Everyone knew the intense young woman loved Shetland—did she commit suicide so she'd never have to leave it?

Three deaths in the same locale cannot be coincidental.  Detective Jimmy Perez knows there's something more to the story.  But what?  What did Hattie dig up?  Did her discovery lead to her death?  Perez is determined to find out whose bones were buried at the site and what, if anything, they had to do with the other deaths.  In the process, he'll discover lurid secrets kept bottled up by tight-lipped islanders.  Can he use this insider's knowledge to crack the puzzling case?  With his girlfriend away in London, Perez has all the time in the world to solve it ... or does he?

Red Bones, the third book in Ann Cleeves' mystery series set in the Shetland Islands, is another compelling, atmospheric thriller.  Blending an intriguing plot with complex characters and fascinating glimpses at island culture, it's an engrossing read.  Although the story builds slowly, it's never boring.  I cared about its people and was surprised by the identity of the killer.  I've enjoyed the first three books in the Shetland series; I can't wait to see what happens in the last four.  

(Readalikes:  Other books in the Shetland series [Raven Black; White Nights; Blue Lightning; Dead Water; Thin Air; and Cold Earth]; also reminds me of Peter May's Scottish thrillers)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated: 


for language (one F-bomb, plus milder expletives), violence, blood/gore, and mild sexual content

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

1 comment:

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Gold in These Hills by Joanne Bischof

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Glass Houses by Louise Penny



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive