Tuesday, January 03, 2017

Moo A Gentle, Heartwarming Tale of Kindness

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Reena, a 12-year-old who's just moved from the city to rural Maine, isn't sure what to expect from her new home.  Blueberries, lobster, boating—that's about all she knows of the state.  Farming is not on the list.  But when Reena's parents suggest she and her brother offer to help their cantankerous neighbor, Mrs. Falala, with her animals, that's exactly what she finds herself doing.  Zora, the old woman's ornery cow, quickly becomes Reena's arch nemesis.  No matter what she does, nothing seems to go right.  Reena's fed up with it all—Maine, Mrs. Falala, the animals, everything.

Then a strange thing happens.  The more time Reena spends helping her neighbor, the more invested she becomes.  Can a little kindness win over both a stubborn old woman and her disobedient cow?  How about a city girl with a bad attitude?  Reena is about to find out ...

Told in a blend of poetry and prose, Moo, a new middle grade novel by Sharon Creech, is a sweet, tender story about the magic that can happen when we dare to step outside of our comfort zones.  The characters are likable, the book's format intriguing.  Fun word art makes the text come alive, making it more meaningful.  Overall, the tale is a gentle one.  Not super exciting, but engaging nonetheless.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Moo from the generous folks at HarperCollins.  Thank you!

1 comment:

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin