Friday, September 09, 2016

Sweet, Entertaining Romance Another Charmer From Jennifer Moore (With a Giveaway!)

(Image from Amazon)

Although Diana Snow is an orphan of little consequence, her position as a chaperone to a wealthy young lady ensures she's exposed regularly to the finest of London society.  And there's nothing she abhors more than exposure.  She keeps her real emotions, her true self, concealed behind a polite mask at all times.  No matter how much the fashionable women sneer at her, Diana refuses to let their mockery penetrate her hard shell.  Her only desire is to do her job and do it well.  

While accompanying her charge on a visit to Greece, Diana has a chance encounter with a handsome stranger.  She's shocked at the attention Alexandros Metaxas pays her.  It's almost as if he's ... interested.  The connection she feels to the mysterious stranger makes her uncharacteristically bold.  When she spies Alexandros creeping around Corfu in the dark, she follows him.  Her foolish act has devastating results.  Captured by the most notorious pirates in the Mediterranean, she's flung into a dangerous adventure in a place ruled by conflict and curses.  

As Diana struggles to find her place in her colorful prison, she draws ever closer to handsome Alexandros.  Can their romance bloom in such an unlikely situation?  Will the tentative couple survive long enough to find out?  When push comes to shove, will Diana have the courage to break out of her shell and decide where—and with whom—she truly belongs?

Like Jennifer Moore's other Regency romances, her newest stars a brave heroine finding adventure and love in a foreign land.  Neither Diana nor Alexandros are terribly complex characters, but their journey toward Happily Ever After is entertaining nonetheless.  Both are sympathetic, likable, and brave—it's impossible not to root for their success.  Although the action sags a bit in the middle of A Place for Miss Snow, there's enough going on to keep the reader interested.  The novel is hardly a page turner, but it's a sweet, charming story that's clean and compelling enough.  I've enjoyed all the books I've read by Jennifer Moore; this one is no exception.  If you like romantic Regency love stories infused with interesting historical tidbits, you'll find plenty to love about A Place for Miss Snow.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of Jennifer Moore's other novels, including Lady Emma's Campaign; Lady Helen Finds Her Song; and Simply Anna)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of A Place for Miss Snow from the generous folks at Covenant in exchange for my participation in the book's blog tour.  Thank you!

--

If you'd like more opinions on A Place for Miss Snow, be sure to check out all the stops on the book's blog tour:


If you're interested in entering to win a copy of A Place for Miss Snow as well as a $25 gift certificate to Amazon, fill out the Rafflecopter below.  Good luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

  1. Aw regency romances. I would have loved this one as a teen. Not so sure what id think of it now but hey.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin