Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


11 / 30 books. 37% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (3)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (2)
- North Carolina (3)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (1)
- Canada (1)
- England (8)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (2)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


23 / 51 states. 45% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


16 / 50 books. 32% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


21 / 50 books. 42% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


43 / 50 books. 86% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


25 / 40 books. 63% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


15 / 40 books. 38% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


9 / 25 books. 36% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


6 / 26.2 miles (second lap). 23% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


22 / 100 books. 22% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


58 / 104 books. 56% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


60 / 165 books. 36% done!
Saturday, July 02, 2016

Silent Sting a Disappointing Mess

(Image from Amazon)

In California's Central Valley, something strange is happening—honeybees are dying at an unnatural rate.  The situation has become alarming; if it continues, it could be disastrous.  The U.S. government has assigned a team of researchers at the University of California-Riverside with finding some answers.  When the scientists began mysteriously dying one by one, it's clear that someone will do anything to stop the truth from getting out.

Tiana Lambrose, a 21-year-old LDS woman from Malibu, is studying entomology at UC Riverside.  When she captures a bee that has been engineered to kill, she brings in the first real clue to what is happening with the insects.  No one knows who has the money, technology, and motive to create such a thing.  But Tiana vows to figure it out.  With the help of FBI agent Stu Whiteleather by her side, she continues the professors' research.  The closer she gets to the truth, though, the closer she's coming to sharing her professors' fate.  Can Stu keep her safe?  Or is she, too, destined to die from the silent and deadly sting of a killer insect?

Remember what I said about LDS romantic thrillers?  Namely, that they're not my favorite?  Well, Silent Sting by Clair M. Poulson is an excellent example of why.  I've been hesitating to write this post because contrary to popular belief, I don't actually enjoy writing negative reviews.  Especially about books written by nice old men.  But, I have to be honest—Silent Sting is a mess.  Not only is the plot confusing, but the prose is dull and the characters are cardboard stereotypes.  Poor editing makes thing even more befuddling (is Tiana's surname Lambrose or Lambert?  Is her dad Lloyd or Connor?).  Although I appreciate the fact that Silent Sting is a clean "thriller," I just found it boring, confusing, and difficult to slog through.  I had to force myself to finish it.  Considering LDS romantic thrillers aren't high on my list of favorite genres, I really
should have left this one on the shelf.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and references to mature subject matter (illegal drug use, child abuse, etc.)

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Silent Sting from the generous folks at Covenant Communications.  Thank you!

1 comment:

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Silent Sister by Diane Chamberlain



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive