Saturday, January 10, 2015

Nothing New or Original Makes Zombie Novel a Meh for Me

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Dealing with a monster is nothing new for Scarlet, a 33-year-old single mother of two girls.  After all, she does battle with her slutty ex-husband every day.  Nate Oxford fights a boring desk job that's about as fulfilling as his marriage.  Being with his 7-year-old daughter is about the only thing that gives his life meaning.  Eighteen-year-old Miranda Hayes' only concern is getting away, road-tripping with her sister and their boyfriends. 

These three very different people are going about their daily business when the world goes stark, raving mad.  A vicious outbreak is consuming people all over the globe, turning them into bloodthirsty zombies.  None of them are safe.  All of their panicked minds come up with the same solution—Red Hill.  Although the isolated ranch doesn't belong to any of them, they head there anyway, praying to be let inside.  

As the fates of the trio intertwine, they must learn to trust each other in order to survive.  But as their world becomes an increasingly deadly place, the question becomes not just how to keep going, but why?  Is it worth living if it means doing so without their loved ones in a world gone hopelessly awry?  

I've read a lot of zombie novels and Red Hill by Jamie McGuire is pretty much the same as all the rest.  It's more upbeat, true, but it's still the same ole same ole.  McGuire's characters are likable, although they all seem pretty blasé about the whole zombie thing.  Their emotions, especially at first, just don't ring very true.  Because Red Hill takes place in a remote location, it's not as action-packed as other horror novels—really, the story is more about the humans than the zombies.  All in all, though, this is a pretty average monster novel.  There's nothing new or original about it.  Thus, it was just an okay read for me.    

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of other zombie novels)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language, violence, blood/gore, and sexual content

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of Red Hill with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.  

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin