Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


16 / 30 books. 53% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware (1)
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (2)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico (1)
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia (1)
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (2)
- Canada (2)
- England (12)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


38 / 51 states. 75% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


33 / 50 books. 66% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


50 / 52 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


30 / 40 books. 75% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


16 / 40 books. 40% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


11 / 25 books. 44% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


21 / 26.2 miles (2nd lap). 80% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


30 / 100 books. 30% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


75 / 104 books. 72% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


50 / 52 books. 96% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


90 / 165 books. 55% done!
Friday, January 31, 2014

Magical Orphan Train Adventure Teaches Kids About Inner Strength

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Frances Sweeney isn't overly fond of the Lower East Side orphanage where she lives, but at least she and her little brother are together in the home.  It's far better than starving on the streets, that's for sure.  When she receives the news that she'll be boarding an "orphan train" bound for the Midwest, she doesn't know what to think.  As long as the 11-year-old can sneak Harold aboard, maybe it will all turn out okay for the parent-less children.

Jack Holderman has much in common with Frances.  He's also from the Lower East Side, he's also 11, he's also on the train.  The difference?  He has parents.  But the Holdermans have little money with which to provide for their son—it's better to cut him off, send him to greener pastures (literally).  Jack can't help feeling abandoned, especially considering all the horror stories he's hearing about orphans being placed with new families just to get abused and overworked.

As their train chugs toward Kansas, Frances and Jack decide they must escape.  How will they survive on their own?  They don't know, they just know it will be better than the alternative.  And, when they meet another kid who's in charge of a magical land called Wanderville, it seems they've found the perfect home.  But are the children really safe here?  Can young orphans, on their own, really be safe anywhere?  

Wanderville by Wendy McClure channels classic children's series, like Little House on the Prairie and The Boxcar Children, to tell a tale full of adventure, tenacity and hope.  It's about children making their own way in the world, despite the many problems they encounter.  While it seems a bit far-fetched at times, Wanderville is a positive, upbeat historical tale that will remind kids that they're stronger than they think they are—no matter what trials they may be facing.  

(Readalikes:  Reminded me of We Rode the Orphan Trains by Andrea Warren and Orphan Train by Christina Baker Kline)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Wanderville from the generous folks at Penguin.  Thank you!

2 comments:

  1. Hmmm. Once again a book I had no idea existed. Sigh!

    ReplyDelete


  2. Ya ! It is a very good info. Thanks for sharing your post with us.Keep book writing with more helpful topics.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Homecoming by Kate Morton

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Good Neighbor by Maxwell King



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive