Thursday, May 17, 2012

Historical Adventure Series Good, Clean, Well-Written Fun

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for The Pharaoh's Daughter, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from Legend of the Jewel, the first book in the Isabelle Webb series.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

Former Pinkerton spy Isabelle Webb thought she was retiring from the adventurous life.  Not so.  After a harrowing adventure in India, she's now in Egypt, along with her 16-year-old ward, Sally Rhodes, and her boyfriend, 33-year-old blacksmith James Ashby.  Although Isabelle is anxious to save Sally from any further mishaps (one kidnapping is more than enough, thank you very much), she's intrigued when a woman from her past offers her the chance to join a real archaeological dig.  The opportunity is simply too intriguing to miss.

Isabelle is fascinated by the excavation site, a cave near Luxor that is rumored to be the tomb of a shamed pharaoh's daughter.  But strange things are happening—Isabelle's hearing sinister voices near her tent at night; Alice Bilbey's birthmark burns like fire; and locals keep giving the Americans dire warnings and protective charms.  The longer the group stays, the more danger they seem to be finding.  Is finding treasure, even if it is more magical jewels, worth the risk?  Is it worth their lives?  Isabelle and her friends will soon find out.

I loved N.C. Allen's Legend of the Jewel, so I knew I'd be delighted with The Pharaoh's Daughter as well.  And guess what?  I was.  There are so many things to like about this series—a tough, but vulnerable heroine; quick-paced plotting; fun, likable characters; mystery; even a little twist of the paranormal.  It's good, clean, well-written fun and, believe me, that's not an easy combination to find.  I never would have picked up this series if The Pharaoh's Daughter hadn't been nominated for a Whitney Award, but I'm so very glad I did.  N.C. Allen's found a very devoted fan in Yours Truly.

(Readalikes:  Legend of the Jewel by N.C. Allen; also reminds me of the Amelia Peabody series by Elizabeth Peters)

Grade:  B+

If this were a movie, it would be rated:  PG

To the FTC, with love:  I bought The Pharaoh's Daughter at Deseret Book with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.


3 comments:

  1. I now have Legend of the Jewel on my TBR list. I hadn't heard about it, but it sounds good.

    Kathryn
    Clean Teen Fiction
    Clean Adult Fiction

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Awesome! You might have a hard time finding the book. The libraries in my area don't carry it and my closest Deseret Book didn't have it either. I had to go to a different city's DB to find it. Probably should have just bought it on Amazon from the get-go! At any rate, I hope you enjoy it. I did.

      Delete
  2. Since I love ancient Egypt (and am writing about it myself!) this sounds like a book I need to check out! Wonder if they have it at my local Deseret store . . .

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin