Wednesday, March 07, 2012

Warm, Upbeat, Fun—My Unfair Godmother Another Charmer From Rallison

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

"Wishes are powerful things. You can't expect them to change the world without changing you, too" (171).

(Note: While this review will not contain spoilers for My Unfair Godmother, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from My Fair Godmother. Although the books both work well as standalones, as always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

Considering what a mess her life has been lately, 17-year-old Tansy Miller isn't all that surprised to discover that even her fairy godmother is defective. Chrysanthemum "Chrissy" Everstar is nothing like the kindly old soul who granted Cinderella her heart's desire—she's more like a ditzy prom queen who doesn't know her tiara from her glass slippers. Which isn't too far off the mark. Chrissy is, in fact, not the brightest of students at fairy godmother school. Unless Chrissy can pull off some quick extra credit projects, her grades won't be good enough to get her into university. Which is where Tansy comes in. If Chrissy can change her from pathetic to princess, it will do wonders for both of them.


Tansy's not sure what to think of Chrissy, but she's not about to say no to the three wishes she's offering. It's only when the wishes start going horribly wrong that Tansy remembers she's dealing with a godmother who's only fair. Now, Tansy's stuck in the Middle Ages trying to outfox the trickster Rumpelstiltskin on her own. Okay, she's not exactly alone, but that's an even bigger problem—not only is she responsible for getting herself home, she has to worry about returning her family and a cute guy from her high school, none of whom are too happy with their one-way ticket to fairy tale land. With Chrissy off flitting around somewhere, Tansy can't count on magic. All she has is her own wit and determination. If that's not enough, she'll be stuck in a drafty old castle spinning straw into gold—for the rest of her life.

Popular MG/YA author Janette Rallison infuses My Unfair Godmother with the same warmth and humor that made the first book in the series (My Fair Godmother) such an enjoyable read. Tansy's a funny, sympathetic heroine whose adventures are original and entertaining. While she learns some important lessons from her adventures, the book never feels preachy. It's just pure, vintage Rallison—warm, upbeat and lots of fun. I loved it.

(Readalikes: My Fair Godmother by Janette Rallison and Princess for Hire by Lindsey Leavitt)

Grade: B

If this were a movie, it would be rated: PG

To the FTC, with love: I bought My Fair Godmother at last year's LDS Storymakers conference with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger. Ha ha.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin