Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (4)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (7)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (4)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (12)
Greece (1)
Italy (1)
Nepal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


29 / 51 states. 57% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


49 / 53 books. 92% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


31 / 50 books. 62% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


34 / 50 books. 68% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Monday, June 27, 2011

Provocative Jenna Fox Intriguing, Haunting, Fascinating and Lots of Other Great Adjectives

(Image from Indiebound)
When 17-year-old Jenna Fox wakes up from a year-long coma, she can't remember anything. Not even her name. No matter how much her parents tell her, no matter how many home videos she watches, no matter how hard she tries, her memories aren't coming back. Not all of them anyway. And the ones that have surfaced don't make any sense. Come to think of it, not much about her current situation does make sense. Why does Jenna live in California now when she grew up in Boston? Why won't her mother let her leave the house? And why does the grandmother who used to be Jenna's biggest confidant suddenly hate her?

The more questions Jenna asks them, the more convinced she becomes: Her family is lying to her. Something about the story they've told her - the car crash, the coma, her recovery - just doesn't add up. And then there are the whispers in her head, haunting voices that stir up chilling memories of the accident. As Jenna probes deeper into her fuzzy mind she comes to the startling realization that her parents' lies just might be the least of what's been done to her.

Mary E. Pearson's fascinating short novel, The Adoration of Jenna Fox, is one of those books that's difficult to describe. Overexplaining will ruin it, underexplaining won't do it justice. So, I'll just say it's a contemporary story with a sci fi bent that makes it both unique and thought-provoking. Its fast-paced, suspenseful plot makes it even more intriguing. Although I consumed the book in a few hours, it's been on my mind ever since. It's that provocative. If you haven't read it yet, do (then pre-order the sequel - it comes out on August 30). I can't wait to discuss this one.

(Readalikes: Reminds me of Unwind by Neal Shusterman)

Grade: B

If this were a movie, it would be rated: PG for mild language

To the FTC, with love: Another library fine find

3 comments:

  1. How intriguing! Ok, you've got me interested, this is going on the wishlist :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I read this one a long time ago and really liked it. But I didnt know there would be a sequel!!!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Yes! Yes, yes! Oh, how I want that sequel. I think I've forgotten everything about this book, except that I loved it. Maybe I'll have a chance to reread?...

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive