Tuesday, June 28, 2011

How to Find A Creepy-Good YA Novel in 4 Easy Steps

(Image from Indiebound)

Step One

Watch this:



Step Two
Read this:

A mysterious island.

An abandoned orphanage.

A strange collection of very peculiar photographs.

It all waits to be discovered in Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children, an unforgettable novel that mixes fiction and photography in a thrilling reading experience. As our story opens, a horrific family tragedy sets sixteen-year-old Jacob journeying to a remote island off the coast of Wales, where he discovers the crumbling ruins of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. As Jacob explores its abandoned bedrooms and hallways, it becomes clear that Miss Peregrine's children were more than just peculiar. They may have been dangerous. They may have been quarantined on a deserted island for good reason. And somehow - impossible though it seems - they may still be alive.

A spine-tingling fantasy illustrated with haunting vintage photographs, Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children will delight adults, teens, and anyone who relishes an adventure in the shadows.

- From the front flap of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs


Step Three

Beg, borrow or buy the book. Stealing it is not recommended.

Step Four

Read it. Love it. (Okay, that's two steps. Whatever.)

See how easy that was?

(Readalikes: Um, I can't think of anything. Can you?)

Grade: B+

If this were a movie, it would be rated: PG-13 for language (no F-bombs) and scary images

To the FTC, with love: I received a finished copy of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children from the generous folks at Quirk Books.

9 comments:

  1. I want to read this book so bad- I need to move it up in my TBR

    ReplyDelete
  2. So have you read it yet?? Mine is sitting on my shelf just waiting. Maybe this weekend. Those kids are truly strange and that teaser trailer. Brrrr!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Clever, clever, clever....

    You're awesome!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Well, you've convinced me.

    ReplyDelete
  5. This sound deliciously creepy. I may just have to steal a copy. ;-)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Don't know if I'd like this or not, but I added it to my TBR list.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I so loved this book. The storyline was so unique, it was quite fun to have something different for a change.

    Jen
    In the Closet With a Bibliophile

    ReplyDelete
  8. I've got this book sitting on my TBR pile (after getting to see the book cover in a huge poster format at BEA this past May) and hope to read it soon!!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I LOVED this book! I loved the idea of the pictures. I've read the first two and can't wait to get my hands on the third! :-)
    -Amy
    abookwormsperfectapple.wordpress.com

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin