Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (4)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (7)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (4)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (12)
Greece (1)
Italy (1)
Nepal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


29 / 51 states. 57% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


49 / 53 books. 92% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


31 / 50 books. 62% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


34 / 50 books. 68% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Monday, May 30, 2022

Is Buried in a Good Book The Best-Written Cozy I've Ever Read? Why, Yes, I Do Believe It Is.

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Tess Harrow, a popular mystery/thriller writer, is enjoying an enviable literary career. Her personal life? That's another matter entirely. Recently divorced after 15 years of marriage, she's trying to pick up the pieces while also dealing with her teenage daughter, who's been prickly since her dad's abandonment. In desperate need of a getaway where the two can unplug and reconnect, Tess whisks Gertie away to tiny Winthrop, Washington. Spending the summer at Tess' grandfather's rustic cabin in the woods should be just the thing for some much needed mother/daughter bonding and healing. 

Tess and Gertie have barely stepped foot on the property when an explosion rocks the peaceful forest. While being showered with fish guts and human remains, Tess watches her dreams of a languid, relaxing summer slip through the cracks. Suddenly, she—who was written about dozens of fictional murder mysteries—is smack dab in the middle of a very real one. Although Winthrop's ruggedly handsome sheriff (who is disconcertingly similar to the made-up hero of Tess' bestselling mystery series) insists he does not need her help to solve the crime, the author can't help herself. If she wants to reclaim her summer, not to mention clear her good name, she needs to find out whodunit. And soon.

Cozy mysteries are a dime a dozen and I've read several dozen! Most of them are average reads, with mediocre writing, blah characters, improbable plots, and lots of melodrama (often to the point of ridiculousness). I usually give even my most favorite ones only about a B-. Why do I bother reading them, then? Well, because they're generally clean, fun, easy reads that don't give me nightmares! I don't expect a lot out of them, though, to be honest. I was VERY pleasantly surprised, then, by the quality of Buried in a Good Book, the first installment in a new series by Tamara Berry. It might, in fact, be the best-written cozy I've ever read.

Cozies generally have a strong sense of place and this one is no different. The little town of Winthrop comes alive in Berry's hands, providing a lively backdrop for her story. Tess and the other characters are lively, with personalities that are not only discernable but also complex. For a cozy, these story folks are quite well-developed, while still being left with plenty of room for further growth. Their dialogue feels natural, not forced. Berry's prose is the same. It flows well and sparkles with humor and wit. The plot is, of course, a *little* far-fetched. Still, there's some originality to it and it's twistier than you might expect. Also, just to warn you: the murders are a little more gruesome than your average cozy deaths, although they're not described in an overly graphic way. While I did identify the murderer before Tess did, Berry kept me guessing until about 3/4 of the way through and I still didn't see EVERYTHING coming. Needless to say, I really enjoyed Buried in a Good Book. It's engrossing, it's funny, it's entertaining, it's smile-inducing. If you're into cozies (and even if you're not), give this one a shot. It's just SO fun!

(Readalikes: Reminds me of cozy mysteries by Ellie Alexander, Amanda Flower, Kylie Logan, Victoria Abbott, Vivien Chien, etc.)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence, blood/gore, and sexual innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I received an e-ARC of Buried in a Good Book from the generous folks at Sourcebooks via those at NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. Thank you!

8 comments:

  1. How fun to read a book that stands out in a genre that you enjoy! I hope you're having a fun 3-day weekend.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've never read a cozy mystery before. I really should give one a try. I love mysteries and thrillers. I probably would like them.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I read this too! And I really enjoyed it. You're right, it's a tiny bit far fetched, but a whole lot of fun.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I so can't wait to read this one! :D

    ReplyDelete
  5. This is high praise indeed! I agree, even though I love reading cozy mysteries, they're not usually my highest rated books. They're just good fun! Nice to see that this one is well crafted in addition to being fun.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'm so excited to give this a try. I read a lot of cozies and I love them but there can be a certain sameness about them. I love the sound of the premise!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I love cozies, though I haven't read TONS. This is on my wish list - glad you liked it!

    Lauren @ www.shootingstarsmag.net

    ReplyDelete
  8. This one sounds so good and I'm glad you enjoyed it!!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive