Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:


2022 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho
- Illinois (1)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (4)
- Michigan (2)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (7)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (2)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (1)
- Washington (4)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:

Antarctica (1)
Australia (2)
Egypt (2)
England (12)
Greece (1)
Italy (1)
Nepal (1)
Romania (1)
Scotland (3)
Sweden (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


29 / 51 states. 57% done!

2022 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


19 / 50 books. 38% done!

2022 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2022 Cloak and Dagger Reading Challenge

My Progress:


49 / 53 books. 92% done!

Booklist Queen's 2022 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


40 / 52 books. 77% done!

Aussie Author Reading Challenge 2022


1 / 24 books. 4% done!

2022 Nonfiction Reader Challenge


3 / 20 books. 15% done!

2022 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge

My Progress:


31 / 50 books. 62% done!

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

The 52 Book Club's Reading Challenge 2022

My Progress:


39 / 52 books. 75% done!

2022 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


34 / 50 books. 68% done!

2022 Support Book Bloggers Challenge

2022 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

Saturday, April 30, 2022

Newest "Beervaria" Cozy Not Quite As Charming As the Others

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note: Although this review will not contain spoilers for The Cure for What Ales You, it may inadvertently spoil plot surprises from earlier Sloan Krause mysteries. As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

Beer enthusiasts flock to charming Leavenworth, Washington, every year to enjoy the town's lively Maifest celebration. Craft brewers Sloan Krause and Garrett Strong are excited to debut their new line of drinks at the festival. They're looking forward to a fun, profitable weekend. 

Sloan's plans are derailed when she spots a familiar face amongst all the tourists. Marianne is the woman who could hold all the answers to Sloan's many questions about her mysterious past. Sloan needs to talk to her, but Marianne seems to be avoiding her. Why? When a local housekeeper is murdered and Marianne becomes the police's prime suspect, the brewer is even more confused. Why is Marianne in town? Does she hold the answers Sloan has been seeking for so long? 

When Marianne warns Sloan that her family is in danger, Sloan goes on high alert. To protect those she loves and figure out the mystery of her past, she must use her detective skills once more to find a killer. Marianne can't be the murderer—or can she?

It's always fun to drop in on Sloan and the gang in lovely Leavenworth. The characters in this series are warm and likable, the setting is vibrant and atmospheric, and the plots are engaging and enjoyable. While the newest installment (#5), The Cure For What Ales You, isn't my favorite, it's still an entertaining read. Unlike its predecessors, this novel focuses a lot on Sloan's mysterious past, which adds a little something new to the story. The plot gets a bit melodramatic and far-fetched (not an uncommon occurrence in a cozy), true, but there was enough substance in the novel to keep me turning pages. I enjoy Alexander's light, fun cozies, so I'll keep reading this series even if this particular installment didn't enchant me quite as much as the others.

(Readalikes: Reminds me of other books in the Sloan Krause series [Death On Tap; The Pint of No Return; Beyond a Reasonable Stout; and Without a Brew] as well as cozy series by Amanda Flower, Vivien Chien, Kylie Logan, etc.)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs); violence; and mild sexual content (in the form of sexual harrassment)

To the FTC, with love: Another library fine find

8 comments:

  1. Glad you enjoyed it. A cozy mystery about beer sounds amazing.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have never had any interest in beer whatsoever, but I like this series and, actually, it's been interesting to learn about the whole process of making it. I never thought about how much work goes into its production!

      Delete
  2. Some cozies are better than others, aren't they?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Definitely! I generally like Alexander's books, but I do find this series of hers more appealing than the others I've read by her.

      Delete
  3. I love Leavenworth. Corey and I almost moved there once. I might have to check this series out, lol, even if you didn't like this installment as much as the others.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Nice! I was born and raised in Washington State, but I've never visited Leavenworth. It's on the bucket list. I especially want to see the town all decked out at Christmastime. The pictures I've seen make it look so quaint and festive.

      Delete
  4. This sounds like another fun food-themed cozy series! I really should pick up the first in this series... if nothing else, the punny titles are right up my alley! ;-)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Cozy mystery titles always make me smile!

      Delete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Farm to Trouble by Amanda Flower

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Lost and Found Bookshop by Susan Wiggs



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive