Search This Blog


2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois (3)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts
- Michigan
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (3)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (5)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (5)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


21 / 51 states. 41% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


31 / 50 books. 62% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


32 / 52 books. 62% done!
Monday, July 19, 2021

Second Good Girl Novel Another Engaging Mystery/Thriller

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for Good Girl, Bad Blood, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from its predecessor, A Good Girl's Guide to Murder.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.  

After all the chaos created by her last foray into amateur detecting, 18-year-old Pippa Fitz-Amobi is done with both sleuthing and podcasting.  She doesn't need the drama or the danger.  Instead, she's concentrating on hanging out with her sweet boyfriend, Ravi Singh, and getting ready to move on to college at Columbia.  Then, a man goes missing after a community memorial honoring the sixth anniversary of the deaths of Sal Singh and Andie Bell.  Although Jamie Reynolds is 24 and known for taking off unexpectedly, his little brother, Pip's good friend, is worried about him.  When Connor asks Pip for help finding him, she really can't say no.  Especially since the police aren't taking the disappearance seriously.  Once more, Pip is on the hunt and on the air.

Pip's investigation soon takes a dark turn, putting her in harm's way once again.  What happened to Jamie Reynolds?  Can Pip solve the mystery?

I enjoyed A Good Girl's Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson, so I was all in for a second book.  Like its predecessor, Good Girl, Bad Blood uses transcripts of Pip's podcasts and interviews as well as her case notes to flesh out the story of her search for Jamie Reynolds.  What emerges is a tense, engrossing thriller that kept me glued to the page.  In addition to a compelling mystery, the novel offers a cast of warm, likable characters; an engaging, upbeat vibe (despite its grim subject matter); and a heroine who's fun and root-worthy in her earnest adorkable-ness.  Sure, the idea of everyone being willing to spill their deepest, darkest secrets to a teenage sleuth is a bit far-fetched, but still...I enjoyed this absorbing yarn that kept me reading and guessing throughout.  Not surprisingly, I'm very much looking forward to As Good As Dead (available August 5, 2021).  I definitely want to know what's going to happen next to the always-appealing, ever-intrepid Pippa Fitz-Amobi!

(Readalikes:  A Good Girl's Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson as well as other YA mysteries, including those by Karen M. McManus and Ashley Elston)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language, violence, blood/gore, disturbing subject matter, and depictions of underage drinking and illegal drug use (marijuana)

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

8 comments:

  1. Glad this one was as good as the first one. I'm thinking I need to read all three of these books. More titles for my TBR list. :D

    ReplyDelete
  2. I didn't know this one is a series! Definitely something to look more into, as I've been on a mystery kick lately.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I checked out your review for the first book and like the sound of it so will look into getting that. I enjoy murder stories that are a little bit different.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Nice review Susan. I have this series on my TBR and your review has me moving it up. It sounds like a lot of fun.

    ReplyDelete
  5. YA mysteries are something I really enjoyed when I was younger, though they were hard to find! I'm glad there are more good ones being published now.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thank you for reminding me I need to read The Disappearing Act - I've read all of her other books. I also like Sally H's writing.

    ReplyDelete
  7. The girls in the stilt house sounds really interesting. I love middle-grade books for a quick read too, especially old favourites :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. I like it when authors incorporate different styles such as texts, podcasts, letters, etc. I feel it brings a new dimension to the story.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
How It Ends by Saskia Sarginson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Dead Wake by Erik Larson


Followin' by Email

Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly


Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:

Blog Archive