Search This Blog

Love reading challenges? Check out my other blog:

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska (1)
- Arizona (4)
- Arkansas (1)
- California (11)
- Colorado (2)
- Connecticut (2)
- Delaware (1)
- Florida (2)
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (2)
- Idaho (1)
- Illinois (7)
- Indiana (1)
- Iowa (1)
- Kansas (1)
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland (2)
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan (1)
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi (1)
- Missouri (1)
- Montana (3)
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (3)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico
- New York (11)
- North Carolina (2)
- North Dakota (1)
- Ohio (7)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (3)
- Pennsylvania (5)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota (1)
- Tennessee (3)
- Texas (6)
- Utah (2)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (6)
- West Virginia (1)
- Wisconsin (2)
- Wyoming (2)
- *Washington, D.C. (1)

International:
Australia (3)
Canada (8)
China (2)
England (17)
France (2)
Ireland (2)
Italy (1)
Japan (1)
Norway (1)
Scotland (1)
Spain (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


51 / 51 states. 100% done!

2021 Fall Into Reading Challenge

My Progress:


21 / 24 books. 88% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


20 / 25 books. 80% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


38 / 52 books. 73% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


41 / 52 books. 79% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


47 / 52 books. 90% done!
Monday, December 07, 2020

Southern Horror Novel Unique and Fun


Feeling bored with her mundane life and inconsequential to those who share it, stay-at-home mom Patricia Campbell turns to true crime books for excitement.  Although she gathers with a group of like-minded women to discuss the tomes, their book club is about more than just reading.  It's a refuge for Patty and her pals, a place for commiseration and camaraderie, friendship and support.  

When a handsome newcomer arrives in the neighborhood, Patty's friends are immediately atwitter.  James Harris awakens long-dormant feelings in Patty, too, but she's wary.  Something about the man is not right.  He's cagey about his past, strangely allergic to sunlight, and has a weird magnetism that is almost ... supernatural.  Then there are all the odd occurrences in the neighborhood that just happen to coincide with James' arrival.  No one else seems alarmed, but Patty is convinced James is a vampire.  Now, she has to prove it to her friends and get their help expelling the creature.  So what if they all think she's crazy?  Patty has to protect her neighborhood from the evil that's stalking it.  Can she stop the charming bloodsucker before he destroys everything—and everyone—she loves?

Based on the title and plot summary, I expected The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires by Grady Hendrix to be a funny, light-hearted read.  And it is in some ways.  It's also deeper than it appears, with some very astute commentary about motherhood, female friendships, sexism, and gender roles.  Although my experiences with men and community politics don't really align with those of Patty and her friends, I still related strongly to the women at the center of this novel.  Hendrix brought them to life for me, making me care about what happened to them.  I was so invested, in fact, that I burned through The Southern Book Club's Guide to Slaying Vampires in one day.  And it's not a slim novel!  The slow-burn story, which is more psychological thriller than horror fest (although there's plenty of gore), is engrossing and compelling.  It definitely kept me riveted to the page.  While the book wasn't exactly what I expected it to be, I ended up really enjoying it.

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a few F-bombs, plus milder expletives), violence, blood/gore, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another fine find

7 comments:

  1. Sounds like a great read! I've been eyeing this novel, so I'll now add it to my reading wishlist after reading your review of it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Anything with Vampires (+ a book club) seems pretty good to me ... and love the book cover of this one! thx for the review

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm glad to hear your thoughts about this book. I'd wondered about it and may just put it on hold at the library. :-)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Hmmmm...my wife is allergic to sunlight, too. Maybe I need to ask a few questions. :-)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I've read a lot of positive reviews of this book. It's another one on my TBR list. Can't believe you read it all in one day! :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I am not into horror so will probably not read this one, but I've been hearing really good things about it.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I had a more mixed reaction to this than some but it was good.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
The Hawthorne Legacy by Jennifer Lynn Barnes

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
How to Get Away with Myrtle by Elizabeth C. Bunce



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive