Search This Blog




Reading

<i>Reading</i>
How It Ends by Saskia Sarginson

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
Dead Wake by Erik Larson

2021 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (4)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut (1)
- Delaware
- Florida
- Georgia
- Hawaii
- Idaho
- Illinois (3)
- Indiana
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky
- Louisiana
- Maine
- Maryland (1)
- Massachusetts
- Michigan
- Minnesota (1)
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire (1)
- New Jersey
- New Mexico
- New York (3)
- North Carolina (1)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (5)
- Oklahoma
- Oregon
- Pennsylvania (1)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee
- Texas
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (3)
- Washington (1)
- West Virginia
- Wisconsin
- Wyoming (1)
- *Washington, D.C.

International:
Australia (2)
Canada (3)
England (5)
France (1)
Ireland (1)
Switzerland (1)
The Philippines (1)
Wales (1)

My Progress:


21 / 51 states. 41% done!

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Children's Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
(Hosted by Yours Truly!)

My Progress:


6 / 25 books. 24% done!

2021 Popsugar Reading Challenge

My Progress:


31 / 50 books. 62% done!

Booklist Queen's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


35 / 52 books. 67% done!

2021 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

2021 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

The 52 Club's 2021 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


32 / 52 books. 62% done!
Thursday, November 26, 2020

Cozy Series Opener Too Far-Fetched and Silly

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Macy Hatfield's at loose ends after divorcing her cheating husband of seven years.  When her older brother suggests she join him in a new business venture, she jumps at the chance to start over in the little West Virginia town where they were raised.  Macy's excited to make the Barks and Beans Café—a coffee shop with a special area for shelter dogs needing homes—a success.  Not only will she and Bo be serving delicious joe, but they will be helping needy animals.

When the golf instructor at a local spiritual retreat facility is found dead, his Great Dane is left an orphan.  Macy's immediately taken with the giant pup, who becomes her ward.  When she finds a mysterious message under Coal's collar, she begins to wonder if the purebred dog was the reason his owner died.  Worried for the animal's safety, Macy vows to figure out who killed Gerard Fontaine before it's too late for her precious new pet.

I needed a book set in West Virginia for the Literary Escapes reading challenge, so I grabbed No Filter by Heather Day Gilbert, the first book in a cozy mystery series.  Just as I suspected, it's a quick, easy read that was engaging enough to keep me reading.  Unfortunately, the plot is far-fetched and silly, with a killer who's pretty obvious from the get-go.  The characters, including the siblings at the story's center, have little personality, which makes them feel bland and generic.  So, while I appreciated No Filter for being a clean, easy read, I only continued with it because of its setting.  I won't be moving on with the series ... unless, of course, I need a West Virginia book for next year's challenge ... 

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of other cozy mysteries, although no particular title or series is coming to mind.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence and scenes of peril

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

4 comments:

  1. I hate when this happens! Something looks like fun and a good way to spend some reading time, but cozies can be SO ridiculous sometimes.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't expect cozies to be realistic, but sometimes they're just beyond ridiculous! I can handle far-fetched but only to a point, you know?

      Delete
  2. From the way you reacted to this one, it sounds as if it is aptly titled.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin



Followin' by Email



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:

Blog Archive