Monday, April 06, 2020

With Irresistible Jacky Faber, the High Seas Are Always Exciting!

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for The Wake of the Lorelei Lee, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from previous Bloody Jack adventures.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.

I've talked a lot about the Bloody Jack books by L.A. Meyer on my blog because it's long been one of my favorite YA series.  Reading it is like listening to a skilled storyteller recalling highly entertaining, obviously embellished tales full of adventure, romance, danger, and derring-do.  It matters little that the books are all basically plotless (other than Jacky needing to get out of whatever scrape she's currently gotten herself into) because they're just so darn fun!  I've especially enjoyed listening to the tales on audio.  Katherine Kellgren is an exceptional narrator.  Sadly, both Meyer and Kellgren have passed away—they were a brilliantly talented duo and I miss the perfection of their combined genius.  

The Wake of the Lorelei Lee is the eighth installment in the Bloody Jack series.  The novel starts with a very happy Jacky Faber in command of the ship she purchased with the Spanish gold she pocketed after her deep-sea diving adventures in Rapture of the Deep.  Under the false belief that she has been pardoned by her homeland's government, she is excitedly making her way toward England and her true love, Jamie Fletcher.  Of course, life is never that simple for ole Jacky.  Almost before she knows what's happening, she's a prisoner on her own ship, headed for a penal colony in New South Wales, Australia.  Scrappy Jacky never goes down without a fight, however, and this time will be no exception.  From riding an elephant to saving an island people from a tyrant to charming a powerful Chinese pirate, her latest adventure is another thrilling episode in the life of the inconquerable Jacky Faber.

As you can tell, Jacky's crazy adventures are always entertaining.  She's a spunky, irresistible heroine who's fierce, funny, and loyal.  It's impossible not to be drawn in by her engaging voice and her colorful, exciting escapades.  Although The Wake of the Lorelei Lee is a little more graphic than its predecessors, I still very much enjoyed listening to this engrossing tale.

 (Readalikes:  Other books in the series, including Bloody Jack, Curse of the Blue Tattoo, Under the Jolly Roger, In the Belly of the Bloodhound, Mississippi Jack, My Bonny Light Horseman, Rapture of the Deep, The Mark of the Golden Dragon, Viva Jacquelina!, Boston Jacky, and Wild Rover No More)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a couple F-bombs [unless I heard wrong], plus milder expletives), violence, blood/gore, sexual innuendo/content, and references to prostitution/rape

To the FTC, with love:  I bought an audio copy of The Wake of the Lorelei Lee from Audible with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.

2 comments:

  1. How sad that both the author and narrator have both passed away, ensuring you won't have any more books in the series to read.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds like a wonderful series that you have been enjoying. So sad that the author has passed one. There have been so many wonderful authors pass over the last year. I will have to see if I can get a copy of the audiobook from the first in this series, as I want to start at the beginning. Wonderful review Susan.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin