Thursday, July 24, 2014

My Favorite Teen Pirate Sails (And Charms) Once Again in Mississippi Jack

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

(Note:  While this review will not contain spoilers for Mississippi Jack by L.A. Meyer, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from earlier Bloody Jack novels.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.)

What is it about a great character that makes us want to follow them wherever they go?  Is it because they're brave?  Mysterious?  Sympathetic?  Hilarious?  Unpredictable?  Loyal?  Whatever the magic formula is, "Bloody" Jack Faber's got it.  In spades.  She's one of my very favorite characters in children's/YA lit—ever.  No matter how many tales I read about her, I just cannot get enough.  She's that vibrant, that engaging, that delightful.  If you haven't "met" Jacky yet, you need to introduce yourself.  ASAP.

Just what is the illustrious teen pirate up to these days, you might ask?  Well, I've heard tell that the last book in the series (WAAHHHH!) will be released on November 4, 2014.  In the meantime, I'm playing catch up.  So, here's a little plot summary for Mississippi Jack, the fifth installment:

After a (very) narrow escape from the British authorities who want her head, Jacky flees into the American wilderness.  Hoping to lose herself on the wild frontier, she vows not to do anything to attract attention to her fugitive self.  Not an easy task when you're world-renowned for your daring theatrics.  True to form, Jacky can't stay out of trouble for long.  She out-foxes a bellowing riverboat captain, creates her own floating casino, battles vicious bandits, and breaks (not) a few hearts along the way.  Her ultimate goal?  Reuniting with her beloved Jaimy—who, unbeknownst to Jacky, is only days behind her.  Which is just enough time for both of them to get themselves into a whole lot of trouble.  Will those missteps keep the pair apart forever?  Jacky's gotten herself out of some big scrapes before, but keeping both her head and her heart intact might be an impossible feat, even for her.

There's so much to love about the Bloody Jack books by L.A. Meyer.  Not only is the heroine an enormously appealing character, but her escapades just get bigger and bolder with every book.  Who cares if the loosely-plotted stories are about as believable as the unlikeliest tall tale?  They're tons of fun.  As with all its predecessors, Mississippi Jack offers a rip-roarin' yarn filled with action, adventure, romance, and humor.  Their colorful, larger-than life characters make them even more entertaining.  This continues to be one of my favorite YA series of all time—give it a try and I'm pretty sure you'll agree.  Jacky Faber is simply unforgettable!

(Readalikes:  The other books in the Bloody Jack series, including: Bloody Jack; Curse of the Blue Tattoo; Under the Jolly Roger; and In the Belly of the Bloodhound)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs), violence, and sexual innuendo/content

To the FTC, with love:  I bought a copy of Mississippi Jack at a local bookstore with a portion of the millions I make from my lucrative career as a book blogger.  Ha ha.  

3 comments:

  1. I am listening to book # 9 right now.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Aaaahhhh I just heard that LA Meyer passed away last week. How sad

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I heard that, too. Very sad. He was one of my favorite YA authors.

      Delete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin