Wednesday, March 18, 2020

MG Novel Tells Sincere, Heartwarming Tale About the Importance of Farming, Family, and Friendship

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

There's nothing 12-year-old Paige McBride likes better than working the Idaho farm her family has owned for generations.  Even with the recent death of her father, which has caused financial hardship, extra chores, and heavy sorrow, Paige is determined to keep the place running smoothly.  When she learns about her mother's decision to sell her beloved land, she vows it will never happen.  Not only does Paige have a foolproof plan to sabotage their realtor's schemes, but now she's got two unexpected secret weapons—a journalist who wants a hands-on farming experience and a wounded peacock of mysterious origins.  Paige will use them, as well as every other trick she's got up her sleeve, to rescue the farm she loves.  Will it be enough?

Wendy S. Swore's debut novel, A Monster Like Me, was one of the best books I read last year.  I loved it so much that I couldn't wait to read her sophomore effort, The Wish and the Peacock.  While her newest didn't move me as much as her first, I still enjoyed this poignant middle-grade novel.  Paige is an admirable heroine—she's smart, loyal, hard-working, and focused.  Her love for her home and family shines brightly.  Young readers will enjoy the story for the funny antics Paige and her friends employ to foil the adults' actions, but what will really stand out is our heroine's dogged determination to save the things and people she loves.  Paige's affinity for her land as well as the work she does on it ring with authenticity because Swore, herself, is a full-time farmer.  It's not surprising, then, that The Wish and the Peacock exudes sincerity and heart.  Overall, it's an empowering tale about the importance of friendship, family, legacy, and fighting for what you believe in.  I enjoyed it.

(Readalikes:  Um, I can't think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of The Wish and the Peacock from the generous folks at Shadow Mountain in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!

10 comments:

  1. This does sound good and definitely unlike anything I've heard before. I do love with an author really knows about what they're writing about and the enthusiasm really comes through.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I agree! You don't see many MG books set on farms these days and I think it's important for kids (and grown-up kids) to be reminded how essential farms are to our economy.

      Delete
  2. Love the sound of this one! Kids and their schemes always makes me smile. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. For sure! Kids can really surprise you with how clever they are, especially when it comes to tricks and pranks :)

      Delete
  3. Man I am so drawn to this cover and it sounds super cute!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It is cute, but it has substance as well. My favorite kind of MG novel!

      Delete
  4. Your descriptions alone have me wanting to meet Paige. I am also excited to see a book set on a farm in Idaho. I don't read many of those.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Paige is a different kind of heroine than we usually see in MG. She's believable as a 12yo, but she's also more hard-working and determined than most. Maybe farm kids just have to be?

      Delete
  5. There's something enchanting about a peacock so this cover would definitely have pulled me in.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Paige sounds like a wonderful character who has really been through a lot. The cover is amazing.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin