Wednesday, December 04, 2019

Sweet, Entertaining Story Urges Kids to Be Themselves (Even If They're a Little Different From Others)

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

"It's a powerful thing to rescue something.  It changes both of you."

Emma's nerves are running rampant on the night before she's to start public school after years of being taught at home.  Needing a distraction, she goes with her game warden father on a call about a wild rabbit.  Surprised to find a pet bunny, not a feral animal, Emma begs her dad to let her bring it home.  Reluctantly, he agrees.  But only until the shelter opens the next morning.

Delighted by her foster pet, Emma nonetheless longs to find a real best friend.  She's never had one before and she desperately wants to know what it's like.  When her efforts yield only a strange boy with special needs, she doesn't know what to do.  Her bunny, Lapi, provides emotional support, but when his presence at her home is threatened, Emma fears she'll lose the only friend she has.  Can she figure out how to keep Lapi and find a human BFF?  Or is she stuck with no pet and only the weird kid for company at school?

I've enjoyed all of Cynthia Lord's middle-grade novels.  Her newest, Because of the Rabbit, is no exception.  It's not my favorite of the author's books, but it's still a sweet, upbeat story about being yourself (even if you're a little different from other people), telling the truth, and being a good friend.  Because of the Rabbit is an easy, entertaining read that will appeal to animal lovers as well as kids who might be having trouble with their own friendships.  I enjoyed it.

(Readalikes:  A little like Rules by Cynthia Lord)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


To the FTC, with love:  Another library find fine

4 comments:

  1. Any book that can take the common experiences of middle grade students and make them accessible is a good thing.

    ReplyDelete
  2. This sounds so sweet, and transitioning to a new school is such a common thing, I bet there are tons of kids, who would really relate to this story.

    ReplyDelete
  3. This sounds really good and I like that it revolves around transition. This sounds like a book that so many kids would really relate to.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin