Wednesday, November 06, 2019

Empowering, Faith-Promoting Memoir Proves Anyone Can Change (with a Giveaway!)

(Image from Amazon)

Daniel L. Trotter became hooked on illegal drugs at a young age.  This—as well as addictions to alcohol, tobacco, pornography, and partying—continued to plague him throughout adolescence and young adulthood, leading where such vices inevitably will.  After numerous close calls, as well as a suicide attempt and stays in both jail and a mental facility, Trotter finally hit rock bottom.  Desperate to change his life, he took dramatic action.  Inspired by the Biblical story of Jesus' forty-day fast in the wilderness, Trotter embarked on his own journey.  He promised himself—and God—that he wouldn't emerge from the forest where he was camping until he had found the strength to transform his life.  For good.

A Different Kind of Strong is Trotter's story.  Although it describes a long struggle with debilitating addictions, the memoir is a short, easy read, making it approachable for even the most reluctant reader.  It's written in a casual, conversational style that marks Trotter as an Everyman, whose mistakes and challenges could be those of any one of us.  His yearning for God, which led to his eventual conversion to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints (the faith which his family embraced, but he abandoned), shows that, with the help of the Lord, anyone can change.  Through an ongoing process of repentance, forgiveness, restitution, and turning to God, past mistakes can be made right and present challenges overcome.  Trotter is quick to point out that his life didn't immediately become perfect after his life-changing experience in the wilderness, but it did improve in ways he never could have imagined.

While A Different Kind of Strong doesn't feature the strongest prose, it's still a compelling, empowering memoir that offers help and hope to those struggling with addiction.  Overall, I enjoyed this fast, faith-promoting read.

In addition to being a writer, a personal trainer, a Certified Peer Support Specialist (CPSS), and a motivational speaker, Trotter is also a singer and songwriter of inspiring religious music.  His CD, also titled A Different Kind of Strong, can be purchased on his website or at Amazon.  The songs are also available for download on Amazon.

(Readalikes:  I don't read a lot of books like this, so no titles are coming to mind.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for violence, nudity, and references to drug use, drug dealing, prostitution, etc. (although descriptions are not overly graphic)

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of A Different Kind of Strong as well as a CD of the same name from the very generous Daniel L. Trotter via Moore PR Group.  Thank you!

--

Would you like to win a copy of A Different Kind of Strong and a $50 Amazon gift card?  Of course you would!  Use the Rafflecopter widget below to enter the giveaway.  Good luck!


a Rafflecopter giveaway

No comments:

Post a Comment

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin