Thursday, October 17, 2019

Despite Unique Format, Lippman's Newest Just an Average Read

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

After separating from her husband of almost 20 years, Madeline "Maddie" Schwartz longs to live the exciting, meaningful existence she's been missing out on for two decades.  When she hears about a body found in a park fountain, she knows she's stumbled upon a story that could be her ticket to being taken seriously in the world of investigative journalism.  No one but Maddie seems to care about the dead woman; the more she digs for answers, the more obsessed she becomes with finding the truth.

The dead woman's ghost (who is observing Maddie's investigation) just wants to be left alone.  But why?  What happened to her?  Who stole her life and set her restless spirit wandering?

Lady in the Lake by Laura Lippman uses a unique, interesting format to tell an otherwise ordinary story.  It works, making the tale more compelling than it would have been.  In fact, it may be the saving grace for this novel, which features two unlikeable "heroines" who are both selfish and manipulative.  It's tough to care too much about either one of them.  In addition, Lady in the Lake is grim and depressing.  All in all, then, it was another average read for me.  I definitely didn't love it, but I liked it well enough to finish the book.

(Readalikes:  I'm tired and nothing is coming to mind.  You?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (1 F-bomb, plus milder expletives), violence, and some sexual content

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of Lady in the Lake from the generous folks at William Morrow (an imprint of HarperCollins) in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!

8 comments:

  1. Interesting to include the dead woman's ghost in the story. Especially as she doesn't seem to want resolution or retribution.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've seen a few other reviews of this one that assess it pretty much as you do here. I've read several Laura Lippman books and enjoyed them, so this is kind of surprising to me. I have it on my TBR list, but after reading the reviews, I'm not in a real big hurry to get to it.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'll probably skip this one, but I like the idea of ghost watching. It reminds me a bit of Lovely Bones, which was such a great book.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Grim and depressing are two words I never use to describe a book I enjoyed. I lean more towards fluff, but I do like the incorporation of the ghost to give the dead woman's POV.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I've also read several books by the author that I liked. I'm not going to rush to this one either. Grim, depressing - not really what I need right now. I do like Lippman though. She knows her investigative journalism stuff.

    ReplyDelete
  6. It's hard to completely love a story when the characters aren't particularly likeable, but this does sound like an interesting mystery. I wonder why the murdered woman doesn't want her murder solved. Fab review! :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oh no. I have this arc and haven't read it yet. I enjoy most of this author's work but maybe I won't be in a rush to actually pick it up. The ghost angle doesn't appeal to me, too.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Curious about the different format. I'm a fan of those!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin