Wednesday, June 13, 2018

Cheap Ending Earns Dallas' Newest a Meh From Me

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Ellen's using scraps of heirloom fabric to create a wedding quilt for her granddaughter June when the bride-to-be shows up on her porch declaring the upcoming nuptials have been called off.  With her fiancĂ© shipping off soon for Korea, June's nervous and uncertain about their future.  In an effort to soothe the young woman's worries, Ellen tells her a story about a lady who ran away from marriage three times ...

At the end of the 19th Century, a 22-year-old schoolteacher named Nell strikes out for the New Mexico Territory.  She craves adventure and she longs for love.  Nell finds both at the Rockin' A, a rustic cattle ranch where she becomes a biscuit shooter.  When she falls for a charming cowboy, Nell's over the moon with happiness.  Then Buddy breaks her heart.  Devastated, Nell runs away, vowing never to be so foolish again.  As her traitorous heart starts beating for another, she can't shake off her lingering anxiety.  Can she trust any man's declarations of love?  How will she know if a suitor's sincere and loyal enough to marry?  More importantly, will she ever find true love, the kind that leads to the happy contentment for which she longs?  Nell will have to learn some difficult lessons about life and love before she even comes close to her happily ever after.

Can Nell's hard-won wisdom help June make the most important decision of her life?

With a vivid Old West setting and a story line that's entertaining if not all that engrossing, The Patchwork Bride is the newest historical romance from genre staple Sandra Dallas.  Although the novel's short on plot, it does have a certain charm.  I didn't feel any real connection with its heroine, however, since Nell strikes me as selfish, easy, and fickle.  While the story moves along in a predictable manner, the "surprise" ending feels cheap and sneaky.  In fact, the finale soured the whole tale for me.  The Patchwork Bride just didn't feel like a satisfying read after that!  I wanted to love this one, but in the end, my only feeling is ... meh.  

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't really think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (no F-bombs) and violence

To the FTC, with love:  I received an ARC of The Patchwork Bride from the generous folks at St. Martin's Press.  Thank you!

11 comments:

  1. Hmmm...I haven't read a Sandra Dallas book for quite some time. I had noticed this one, but wasn't inspired to think about it as yet. I've enjoyed others by her, but as I said, it's been a while. Tallgrass is probably my favorite.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've only read one other by Dallas and I didn't love it either. I haven't read TALLGRASS -- maybe I'll give that one a go at some point.

      Delete
  2. Endings can make or break a book for me. Sorry this one ended so badly. It sounds a bit sickeningly sweet for me.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. To be clear, I wouldn't have loved this one no matter what the ending. This ending, though, just soured me on the entire book. I hate that!

      Delete
  3. I've never been a huge fan of Sandra Dallas. But it's too bad that this one wasn't more satisfying.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Her books sound appealing to me, but I haven't loved either of the two I've read. So, maybe I'm not a Dallas fan either :(

      Delete
  4. Sorry this one was just meh for you. It doesn't sound like one I would enjoy all that much.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You can kind of tell from the plot summary that it doesn't have a lot of substance. It had potential, though.

      Delete
  5. The cover has caught my eye but too bad about the less than satisfactory ending. It does sound like it has potential and it is so frustrating when that happens.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The cover is eye-catching in its simplicity, isn't it? And, yes, the story definitely had potential. It just didn't live up to that potential, which is always disappointing.

      Delete
  6. This seems like a good concept, it's too bad the characters don't draw the reader in.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin