Saturday, December 22, 2018

Warm, Fun Ghosts-of-Christmas-Past Story a Sweet Holiday Treat

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

What would you give to have a few more moments with a loved one who has passed?  What would you do for one more hug, one more conversation, one more chance to make things right?  At Ruby's Place—a family-friendly bar that was once the most elegant place in Sullivan, Missouri, and is being newly re-opened after being closed for decades—all those things are possible.  As crazy as it sounds, Ruby's has become a gathering place for Sullivan's restless spirits.  The ghosts are helping Angela, the new owner, bring the old restaurant to life again.  They all want the downhearted citizens of the small town to feel the magic of Christmas.  All they need to do is draw the right people inside.  A push here, a nudge there, and the ghosts of Christmas past will grant the impossible ...

Last year, Holly Schindler—a poet and novelist who pens books for all ages—published a novella called Ruby's Place.  It told a warm, sweet story about a special venue where people in small town Missouri used to flock on special occasions.  Christmas was an especially magical time there.  Over the years, as the economy changed, the restaurant/bar lost money and had to close.  Decades later, a woman stumbles upon Ruby's secret magic.  Helped by a bar full of ghosts, she determines to reopen the place that holds so many sparkling memories for her.  I Remember You picks up where the novella left off, chronicling Angela's journey to successfully bring back the magic of Ruby's Place.  Like the previous story, I Remember You is filled with warmth, humor, romance, and the tantalizing idea that the people we love who have died are never that far away—especially at Christmastime.  I love the premise as well as Schindler's ability to bring her setting and characters to vivid life.  If you're looking for a light, fun holiday read, you'll want to visit Sullivan for yourself.  You never know what's in store for you at Ruby's Place!

Ruby's Place and I Remember You are available for purchase at Amazon (e-books are only $1.99 right now) and Barnes & Noble.  You can also order signed copies of these titles and some of Schindler's other books at her Etsy store.

(Readalikes:  Ruby's Place by Holly Schindler)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language and mild innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of I Remember You from the always generous Holly Schindler in exchange for an honest review.  Thank you!

1 comment:

  1. I love this idea that the spirits of our departed love ones gather somewhere so we can be with them one more time. Merry Christmas!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin