Thursday, December 21, 2017

Christmas Novella Exudes Such a Strong Sense of Place It Will Leave You Longing For Your Own Ruby's

(Image from author's website)

Once upon a time, folks in tiny Sullivan, Missouri, gathered at Ruby's Place—an elegant, family-friendly nightspot—to meet friends, celebrate special occasions, and dance the night away.  A warm, welcoming refuge all throughout the year, Ruby's Place became even more inviting during Christmastime.  Sparkling with holiday spirit, it seemed almost ... magical.

As a child, nothing delighted Angela Lowe more than her annual Christmas visit to Ruby's with her chic aunt.  Just like Angela has changed over the years, so has Sullivan, and so has its once-beloved bar.  Abandoned long ago, the building is a ramshackle ruin, its "For Lease" sign an optimistic plea to a deteriorating town.  Its crumbling exterior mirrors Angela's own.  Lonely and disappointed by life, she feels as hopeless as Ruby's Place looks.  

A week away from Christmas, Angela happens past the old bar.  As she peers through its grimy windows, seeking even a speck of its old holiday sparkle, she gets a shock courtesy of Ruby's "spirits."  Still vibrant inside the moldering walls of the old nightspot, the ghosts of Christmases past are alive and well.  Not only that, but they've got a plan for Angela Lowe ...

Christmas at Ruby's, a novella by Holly Schindler, tells a sweet holiday story about the power of hope.  Its charming premise leads to an imaginative tale with such a strong sense of place that it will leave you longing for your own Ruby's Place.  Or at least for a full-length novel featuring Ruby's and all its colorful inhabitants.  If you're looking for a quick, heartwarming read to get you in the holiday spirit, look no further than Christmas at Ruby's.  It's an engaging, uplifting tale perfect for these busy, fun-filled days leading up to the big holiday.  

*At 99 cents for the e-book and only $6 for a paperback, Christmas at Ruby's is an affordable gift, perfect for holiday giving.*

(Readalikes:  Hm, I can't really think of anything.  Can you?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


To the FTC, with love:  I received a finished copy of Christmas at Ruby's from the always generous Holly Schindler.  Thank you!

3 comments:

  1. This one sounds cute! And I like Christmas novellas. For some reason there the one kind of short story I can handle.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I am enjoying seeing what everyone is reading to get in the holiday spirit. This one sounds fun.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I love this season, but I always end up watching more Christmas movies than reading Christmas books. Maybe a challenge for next December, read more Christmas books. :)

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin