Friday, December 14, 2018

First Installment in Popular Sherlock Holmes/Mary Russell Series Clever and Charming

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Few people can match the infamous Sherlock Holmes in intellect and deduction reasoning.  Even though he's been retired from the detective game for over a decade, his mind remains sharper than the proverbial tack.  So, when he meets young Mary Russell, who literally runs into him at Sussex Downs, Holmes is startled—not only by the 15-year-old's sudden appearance, but also by her remarkable acuity.  Although she's an odd, gawky teenager with loud opinions, she's also insatiably curious, uncommonly smart, and surprisingly teachable.  Mary just might be the apprentice Holmes never knew he needed.

When the daughter of an American senator is kidnapped in Wales, the duo is called in to investigate.  With all of their combined skill, they put their great minds to the test in their search for the missing child.  Can they find her?  Or will the mystery stump the brightest detective to ever live and his very promising young apprentice?

More literary fiction than propulsive thriller, The Beekeeper's Apprentice is the first installment in Laurie R. King's popular Holmes/Russell series.  Although it's denser than the typical mystery, the novel remains clever, charming, and entertaining.  The characters are fun, the plot's engrossing, and the prose is solid.  I enjoyed The Beekeeper's Apprentice overall and while I'm not rushing to continue with the series, I will read more.

(Readalikes:  Um, nothing is coming to mind.  You?)

Grade:

   
If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for brief, mild language (no F-bombs), violence, and mild innuendo

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

2 comments:

  1. I did really like the characters in this one, though I thought parts of the story read kind of slow.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I read this book (and a couple of the others in the series) years ago and enjoyed it. I do think this is the best one in the series.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin