Search This Blog

2024 Bookish Books Reading Challenge (Hosted by Yours Truly)

2024 Challenge Sign-Up Post

January Reviews Link-Up

February Reviews Link-Up

March Reviews Link-Up

April Reviews Link-Up

May Reviews Link-Up

June Reviews Link-Up

July Reviews Link-Up

August Reviews Link-Up

September Reviews Link-Up

October Reviews Link-Up

November Reviews Link-Up

December Reviews Link-Up

My Progress:


13 / 30 books. 43% done!

2024 Literary Escapes Challenge

- Alabama (1)
- Alaska
- Arizona (1)
- Arkansas
- California (5)
- Colorado (1)
- Connecticut
- Delaware (1)
- Florida
- Georgia (1)
- Hawaii (1)
- Idaho (2)
- Illinois (2)
- Indiana (2)
- Iowa
- Kansas
- Kentucky (1)
- Louisiana (1)
- Maine (1)
- Maryland
- Massachusetts (2)
- Michigan
- Minnesota
- Mississippi
- Missouri
- Montana
- Nebraska (1)
- Nevada (1)
- New Hampshire
- New Jersey (1)
- New Mexico (1)
- New York (5)
- North Carolina (4)
- North Dakota
- Ohio (1)
- Oklahoma (1)
- Oregon (2)
- Pennsylvania (2)
- Rhode Island (1)
- South Carolina (1)
- South Dakota
- Tennessee (1)
- Texas (3)
- Utah (1)
- Vermont (2)
- Virginia (2)
- Washington (2)
- West Virginia (1)
- Wisconsin (1)
- Wyoming
- Washington, D.C.* (1)

International:
- Australia (2)
- Canada (2)
- England (10)
- France (1)
- Indonesia (1)
- Ireland (4)
- Italy (1)
- Scotland (2)
- The Netherlands (1)

My Progress:


35 / 51 states. 69% done!

2024 Historical Fiction Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 50 books. 58% done!

2024 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge


23 / 50 books. 46% done!

Booklist Queen's 2024 Reading Challenge

My Progress:


50 / 52 books. 96% done!

2024 52 Club Reading Challenge

My Progress:


42 / 52 books. 81% done!

2024 Build Your Library Reading Challenge

My Progress:


29 / 40 books. 73% done!

2024 Pioneer Book Reading Challenge


16 / 40 books. 40% done!

2024 Craving for Cozies Reading Challenge

My Progress:


11 / 25 books. 44% done!

2024 Medical Examiner's Mystery Reading Challenge

2024 Mystery Marathon Reading Challenge

My Progress


17 / 26.2 miles (2nd lap). 65% done!

Mount TBR Reading Challenge

My Progress


30 / 100 books. 30% done!

2024 Pick Your Poison Reading Challenge

My Progress:


74 / 104 books. 71% done!

Around the Year in 52 Books Reading Challenge

My Progress


50 / 52 books. 96% done!

Disney Animated Movies Reading Challenge

My Progress


84 / 165 books. 51% done!
Friday, November 23, 2018

If I Die Tonight A Taut, Quietly Compelling Thriller

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

When Aimee En, a washed-out 80s pop star, rushes into the Havenkill Police Department raving about a car-jacking, Officer Pearl Maze isn't sure what to think.  The hysterical former celebrity is telling a tale that doesn't make any sense—not just because things like this don't happen in sleepy Havenkill, but also because the woman's story is full of gaping holes.  All Pearl knows is that the 17-year-old boy who tried to stop the robbery is dead.  Another high schooler, an outcast the other kids call "Weird Wade", is being accused on social media of causing the whole thing.  Guilty or not, Wade isn't talking.  It's obvious all the parties involved know more than they're letting on.  What really happened that night?  It's up to Pearl to find out.    

If I Die Tonight, a psychological thriller by Alison Gaylin, asks a chilling question:  How well can you ever know another person?  Even your own child?  In this novel about the secrets we all keep, the main characters grapple with this baffling conundrum.  Told from various viewpoints, this character-driven novel offers an intriguing premise, taut plotting, and enough twists to keep the reader guessing.  If I Die Tonight isn't the flashiest mystery in the world, but it is quietly compelling and thoroughly engrossing.  I enjoyed the read and will definitely read more books by the very skilled Alison Gaylin.

(Readalikes:  Hm, nothing is coming to mind.  Suggestions?)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for language (a dozen or so F-bombs, plus milder expletives), violence, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

3 comments:

  1. Sounds like a book I would enjoy. I like various view points and when a story keeps me guessing.

    ReplyDelete
  2. It’s been difficult to navigate through all the psychological thrillers around now. Thank goodness for book reviews like yours. This one has been added to my list.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I like the idea of lots of secrets, thank you for bringing this one to my attention.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin


Reading

<i>Reading</i>
Homecoming by Kate Morton

Listening

<i>Listening</i>
The Good Neighbor by Maxwell King



Followin' with Bloglovin'

Follow

Followin' with Feedly

follow us in feedly



Grab my Button!


Blog Design by:


Blog Archive