Tuesday, July 17, 2018

Second Casey Duncan Mystery as Engrossing as the First

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Note:  Although this review will not contain spoilers for A Darkness Absolute, it may inadvertently reveal plot surprises from its predecessor, City of the Lost.  As always, I recommend reading books in a series in order.

When homicide detective Casey Duncan needed a place to hide, Rockton took her in.  Although she's grown used to life in the secret, off-the-grid town hidden deep in the Yukon, Rockton still lobs constant curve balls to remind her how inhospitable her new digs can be.  A resident with cabin fever going AWOL surprises her, but her subsequent discovery of a woman held captive inside a cave stuns her.  Residents of Casey's new hometown are not exactly known for their mental stability, but still, who would do such a thing?  The victim cannot identify her abductor, so it's up to Casey and Sheriff Eric Dalton to apprehend him.  As the investigation heats up, the duo must ask themselves if their perp is a Rockton local or if they need to widen their search to include an even more sinister group—outsiders.  Hunting for the mysterious man will reveal even more secrets about Rockton's history, its purpose, and its people, including the always enigmatic Eric Dalton.  The more Casey learns about the town, the more she questions if her safe haven is really safe at all ...

After devouring City of the Lost, I plunged right into A Darkness Absolute, the second book in Kelley Armstrong's engrossing Casey Duncan series.  Like its predecessor, the novel offers an exciting, adrenaline-fueled read.  With an intense, atmospheric setting; complex, intriguing characters; and a twisty, compelling plot; it's got everything I love in a thriller.  The series has a dark rawness to it that makes for disturbing reading at times, but overall, it's a riveting and addicting series that will leave you clamoring for the next installment.  And the next.  And the next.

(Readalikes:  Other books in the Casey Duncan series, including City of the Lost and This Fallen Prey; also reminds me of the t.v. show Lost—if it were set in a snowy forest instead of on a tropical island)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language, violence, blood/gore, sexual content, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

8 comments:

  1. Wait. Is this the same Kelly Armstrong that wrote The Garhering? She really gets around her genres.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yep, same lady. I've never read any of her urban fantasy, but I really like this series.

      Delete
  2. Good to know that the second book in this series is as good as the first! Makes me want to read the first one even more. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I am obviously missing out on something here, because lots of bloggers enjoy Armstrong's work. I need to check her out sometime soon. I am always up for a good, twisty thriller every now and again. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
  4. You are making me want to start this series! I actually own the first two, I think. Glad it's working so well for you. I've enjoyed one of her YA trilogies a lot.

    ReplyDelete
  5. There seem to be so many good mysteries and thrillers out right now!

    ReplyDelete
  6. It sounds like an interesting story! But maybe a little intense for me.

    I always love your rating system - including maturity ratings.

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin