Saturday, July 07, 2018

Propulsive Secret City Thriller Engrossing and Compelling

(Image from Barnes & Noble)

Although Casey Duncan's seen plenty of crime in her two years as a homicide detective, it's the murder she committed while in college that haunts her the most.  As deserving as the victim may have been, he was still the son of a powerful mobster.  While Casey was never charged for the killing, a recent attack reminds her that she will never be truly safe.    

Diana Berry, Casey's best friend, has finally separated from her abusive ex-husband.  When he shows up unexpectedly, leaving Diana bruised and beaten, Casey decides enough is enough.  For both her and her BFF.  Diana knows of a place for people like them, people who need to disappear.  It's not easy to get into Rockton—a secret, off-the-grid town in the middle of nowhere—but Casey knows how to investigate a murder and Rockton's just experienced its first one.  The town needs Casey almost as desperately as she and Diana need it.  

It's only when Casey arrives in the Yukon that she realizes just how cut off Rockton is from the rest of the world.  In a town of 200 people, all hiding from something ("The women are mostly running from bad choices in men.  The men are mostly running from bad choices in life" [175].), Casey and Diana could be in a whole different kind of trouble.  Between the women's enigmatic new neighbors, their local murderer, and the extreme, punishing climate in which they suddenly find themselves, there are myriad ways they could disappear—never to be seen again.  The more Casey investigates Rockton's first murder, the more secrets she uncovers about the town, its residents, and her place in this strange new world from which there is no escape ...

I picked up City of the Lost, the first book in the Rockton series by Kelley Armstrong, on a whim.  Locked-room type mysteries always intrigue me, especially when they feature isolated locations in inhospitable climates.  This novel fit the bill, with the added bonuses of sharp prose, a propulsive plot, and flawed, complex characters whom I soon grew to care about.  Although it's dark and gory, City of the Lost is also engrossing and enjoyable.  It reminds me of the t.v. show Lost (sans the supernatural elements), if it were set in a snowy wilderness instead of on a tropical island.  Needless to say, I rushed right out to grab the next two books in the series.  I simply have to know what happens next in the very intriguing town of Rockton.

(Readalikes:  Reminds me of Lost and of the other books in the Rockton series, including A Darkness Absolute and This Fallen Prey)

Grade:


If this were a movie, it would be rated:


for strong language, violence, blood/gore, sexual content, and disturbing subject matter

To the FTC, with love:  Another library fine find

4 comments:

  1. This sounds like a good one. I feel like there are so many thriller and detective books out now.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I just can’t get into this kind anymore but I do still like crime tv shows. Thanks to you I’ve been keeping up with Broadchurch.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm so glad this one was so good! It sounds exactly like the kind of book I really enjoy reading. Thanks, Susan! :D

    ReplyDelete
  4. I've had this one my wish list for so long! I think I need to pick it up now!

    ReplyDelete

Comments make me feel special, so go crazy! Just keep it clean and civil. Feel free to speak your mind (I always do), but be aware that I will delete any offensive comments.

P.S.: Don't panic if your comment doesn't show up right away. I have to approve each one before it posts to prevent spam. It's annoying, but it works!

Blog Widget by LinkWithin